Rambled

9 32
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

It is that where there's no expectation, there can be no disappointment. This is a saying I've always applied in my relations with people, or that I used to apply to my relations to people when I was still a core introvert. I've made no secret of the fact that I've become less introverted and more sociable as a result of my time in the university. Occasionally though, I still see the need to be of such mindset, and I don't hesitate to bring it back up.

When the locations for our field practice training were chosen and the Nigeria institute of oceanography and marine research was one of them, I quickly took up this mindset. The reason is that NIOMR is an institute under the department of aquaculture and rural development, under the Ministry of Agriculture, and I've come to expect anything that is under government management to be substandard and/or neglected.

So, you can imagine my surprise on the very first day when we arrived and we were shown our hostel accommodations, I was more than impressed, as it was well organized, with proper utilities and facilities (although having to wash the house on arrival wasn't pleasing). As if to make it clear to me that I committed a sin against them, I was even more wowed when we were given a tour of the institution yesterday. But today was the height of it all, as we finally were able to get a vehicle to convey my group to the headquarters. There was so much to see, to study, to learn etc. It had been a long while since I've felt like a student as I did today in the various department we visited.

The place is so huge, clean and organized. My mind was blown to actually see a government department or agency been serious, thoroughly organized and well managed. I've up with an hypothesis of why that is, but I'm still testing that.

The first lecturer/instructor we met today is one of a kind. Without doubt, he's a very sound, intelligent and knowledgeable in matters pertaining to areas of specialization of his in fisheries, but he's also a well grounded and passionate Christian. One thing about very passionate Christians is that they see everywhere as a preaching ground and if they so happen to teach, they will always digress from the matter at hand to matters of faith, and they tend to not know when to stop, and the instructor was guilty of that today. In the one hour I was with him, I really learnt a lot.

You Don't Have To Make Heaven

I'm sure you've given your life to Christ(or not) and when you did, you thought it was your job to stay holy, so you make heaven? Wrong!! The moment you gave your life to Christ, you became an automatic citizen by the covenant of the blood of Jesus that saved us. So, the heaven that you feel it's up to you to earn is already actually yours. You'll make heaven solely because you're born again, no more, no less ( according to him).

Not All Green Are Pastures

The tutor also talked about the craze and outflow of Nigerians youths to European countries. He told us a story of a family member of his who went abroad to look for 'greener pasture'. Before leaving she was working at a bank and positioned to be promoted to the level of branch manager until she up and decided to leave. She would later do a second master abroad and still, she couldn't do anything other than to work as a kindergarten teacher. What kind of backward progress is that? Sometimes, we are so desperate to leave a situation that we don't bother looking at where we're running towards. The pasture isn't always greener abroad nor anywhere. Sometimes, what you need to do is to focus and dedicate yourself to the development of your own pasture. It might take time, but it will eventually work. Sometimes, these opportunities we consider greener pasture are nothing but death traps.

Don't Hustle

Until today, I didn't know the word 'hustle' actually meant something bad and illegal. Hustling is an informal way of describing criminal and illegal activities that deprives another of what they rightfully own. Today, the word hustle is now used as a regular slang to imply the love of work for money, but that's wrong. So, don't hustle, work and earn diligently, not through hustling.

I'll stop here as I'm really sleepy. I know this is more like a rant, so i really appreciate you taking out time to read my rambles. Thanks a lot

5
$ 3.67
$ 3.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 2
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Being the one supporting the family, I have to do side hustles to provide for their needs hahaha. Anyways, you are right with the not expecting anythinga nd let things unfold just the way they are supposed to be.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I actually don't mean not to hustle literally, of course we all have to find ways to earn money to meet our needs, but the word hustle has a negative meaning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, it means I am working hard and not hustling? my first time hearing this but you learnt lessons from him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yea, hustling is a negative term.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isn't it funny to see how bad or negative words have turned to mean something good or positive. I heard the original meaning of Nice in the old worlds was negative. It meant being ugly but today... So also is the word 'mad' it's become to mean something really good this days e.g the party was really mad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My guy, e nor tire you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abi. I go soon write my own English dictionary 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree talon. We shouldn't work in hustling way because there are possibilities that you cannot concentrate and focus and it will give a not good result then the efforts will be wasted. Just step by step and we don't need to pressure ourselves. Takes a time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right

$ 0.00
2 years ago