A Three-Day Weekend

6 54
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

I don't know really. But come to think of it, is it possible that someone is playing with time itself? If I didn't know better, I would totally say so, but maybe, just maybe, I don't know better, I just think so, like every other person of course. I know I sound insane, sort of, but you've got to understand that this sh*t is real.

The average person will stop working on Friday evening/night, not to mention those whose work/job require them to turn up at the office on Saturday. When you go to sleep on a Friday night, you're quite happy that the work week is over, but your mind and body will not really understand that until the next day. So, let's say that anytime between 8am-12noon the next day, your body would have gotten used to the fact that it's weekend, but by virtue of that your weekend is already cut in a manner of speaking. Then you spend the whole of Saturday cleaning the house, doing the laundry, putting things in order and before you know it, Saturday is over. Then Sunday, you'll go to church and not quite long after you return, your work mind keeps in, in preparation for Monday. It's even worse for those that are workers and volunteers in church. They have to leave way latter than others, giving them less free time, before they start organizing their stuff for Monday.

By Monday, you wake up and you can't help thinking, where did the weekend go? In all these, you barely had anytime for yourself not to mention friends and families. We have seen cases where families are torn apart as a result of the job one of them holds. It's really bad.

I wonder what the solution to all this would be, and it came to me. What if we had a three-day weekend? I would later find out that it's not a Eureka moment as the talk of a three-day weekend is as old as 1900s. According to the BBC, the system we have today, which is the three-day weekend, was actually standardized by Henry Ford in 1926. Before then, it was a six-day workweek. Mr Ford envisaged that a five-day workweek at the same pay will lead to greater productivity and according to the BBC, this has proven to be mostly true.

If that is true, then is it possible that a four-day workweek will lead to greater productivity and more worker satisfaction as workers get to have more time to themselves and their families, to live for themselves? Well, there are those who think so, and quite a lot at that. But like every other social theory on earth, there are those who oppose this. There's a general counterattack against critics of these change, and it's in the form of an argument that these same objections were brought up in the days Henry Ford first talked of a five-day workweek and yet it has been mostly proven to be inaccurate.

Conclusion

The talk of a three-day weekend is here and it will be here for a long, long time. Is it possible? Will it be possible? Will it be beneficial to the workers? The management? The company? The government? Will productivity really increase? Will workers satisfaction get better? We'll see, won't we??

I would like to thank my wonderful sponsors at this time. Your belief in me is what has kept me going despite Rusty's mood swings😂. I can not say enough, how much I appreciate you guys. To all the users who read, comment, like and upvote my articles. You're appreciated. I want to say thank you. Do well to check my very wonderful sponsors. They are such great authors in their own right, and I'm sure you'll enjoy and learn from their articles.

6
$ 1.43
$ 1.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

If only we can have that three day weekend, I am sure that everyone would get to relax and rest.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what most people believe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a long weekend. That's good because you can relax and more time with family and friends.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the idea

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If this can actually be done, I'll love it so much... Three day weekend; to me would increase workers productivity. I work on Monday to Friday's and go to school for part-time classes on Saturday and Sunday, so you could imagine how strenuous that is for me. Slashing out a day from the number of workdays would really increase my productivity... The body needs rest

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I presumed so

$ 0.00
2 years ago