Blind date

0 23
Avatar for Sylvan
Written by
1 year ago

Mom had always pressured me to at least bring a man home. To her, I was not getting younger anymore. My younger sister was already married with two kids. Not like I cared anyway. I just wanted to take life as it comes. No rush.

Soon, the pressure began to weigh on me. I had to even contract guys to take home as boyfriends. I just wanted mum off my back.

Each time I brought a guy, she would demand that we get married and start giving her grandchildren. I soon gave up on contracting guys because I wasn't ready for a marriage contract.

One day, mum came knocking at my door. According to her, the son of her childhood friend just came back from abroad and was in need of a wife. Mum thought I was the right candidate. I didn't want an earful so I decided to give the man a chance. We just had to go on a blind date to decide if we were right for each other. Then we could decide if we were good for each other.

Mum put extra effect in preparing me for the dinner. The whole day was spent making preparations for the date I felt like a doll in her hands. She wanted a perfect dinner for me. I know she meant we'll for me but the pressure is becoming too much. I needed a break bit couldn't voice it out. I don't want a crying mother. She is that dramatic.

Soon,it was time for the date. Mum wanted to take me to the restaurant but I had to decline. That was too much. I just took a cab to the restaurant.

When I walked in, I saw a handsome man sitting alone at a table. He appeared to be waiting for someone. It was a blind date, so I figured he was the one. I walked up to him...

We were so into each other that we didn't bother to introduce ourselves. It was like he was made for me. The date wasn't a bad idea after all. We made conversations and I couldn't help but like him.

Our perfect date was interrupted by a lady who walked up to us and demanded if my date was Mike. She introduced herself as Lucy, who was supposed to be on a blind date with him. It was then I realized something. My blind date's name was Charles not Mike. What an embarrassment.

The handsome Mike looked at me with surprise written all over his face. I guess he saw how shocked and embarrassed I was.

His next action gave me the real shocker. He asked my name and I embarrassedly told him I'm Juan. He then told Lucy that she must have gotten her facts wrong. He denied being Mike. He claimed that maybe he looked like Mike, thus confusing her. The girl left with suspicion written all over her face. Looks like she researched this Mike very well.

I apologized for mistaking Mike as my date, but he said we could turn it into a real date. Turns out he liked me too. He drove me home and even took my contact number. He wanted another date with me.

It was the following day that I realized that Charles did not even make it to our date. Mum said he had an emergency to attend to and was unable to call.

Charles turned out not to be my kind of man. I went on many beautiful dates with Mike. Today, I'm glad to say that my blind date with Mike has led to something fruitful. I'll be going to check out my wedding dress next week. My blind date is a story I will never stop telling my children in the future

Thanks for reading my fiction

1
$ 0.08
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Sylvan
Written by
1 year ago

Comments