Reasons Why I Am Scared to Grow Old

39 65
Avatar for Sydney2
2 years ago
Topics: Growing old, Life, Fear

I am young but I'm already worried about growing old. So many uncertainties are running on my mind about it. I am not trying to predict the future but I am very scared to grow old one day. Whenever I looked into the elderlies, some are happy and some are not. I somehow think about what makes the person happy in their old age. Is it the financial stability or is it the family?

I am still 20 and a lot will say that's still a baby age. In fact I still feel my mind hasn't totally matured. I sometimes feel pressured by the society who is putting a label into everything we do in life. The set expectations for every stages of our age. The role we need to acquire. The tasks we need to be successful at. Everything that everyone expected you to be. I am not putting a high standards to myself, I just sometimes feel scared to be left behind.

I will list down all of the things that's making me scared to grow old and here's why:

Not being financially stable while others are

They say life is not a race. Yes it is not except when you are at your old age, everyone wants to know how much wealth you have built and how much savings you have earned. This is like the final battle of our lives and this is how we will be judged at the end of our physical lives.

Being alone without a family

I always think that relationships are not for me. In fact I can imagine being single for rest of my life. I am scared that I'm going to be alone one day without a family of my own. I'm scared to be home with no one by my side.

Losing all memories from the brain

I heard a lot about old people getting Alzheimer's disease and it's very sad that they don't remember anyone. It is like the body was still there but the person wasn't there anymore. It is no different to the dead person. I am scared to experience this one day.

Being sick and weak

They said all your bad habits are tolerated in your younger years but once you get old, you will reap all the bad habits you planted before. It's so dramatically depressing when you cannot do the things you love to do because your body can't do no more.

I know how very young I am yet to worry so early about these things. There are really times of my life where I think about old and aging life. If there are advices I am getting from the old people, they said enjoy your younger years as much as you can. I have taken that advices by heart because I know I will be only young once and I'm not going to experience it over again.

If only we can stay young forever, I would chose to be. Sadly, there's nothing like that. We need to accept that we'll get older and then die. I don't have problem about death because there is no reason to exist forever. I just want the younger years to be longer.

There are also times on my life where I get depressed thinking about adulthood. I am scared that my high school classmates before won't be so easy to approach in the future because they are so high standards to befriend. The reason why these things occupied my mind is because of the experience of others.

I do not have a phobia about being old because I believe we all humans need to go through that. I am only scared about the life of being an old one. The changes and the life's turning point. If you are young like me, you don't have to worry as much as I do. I am not going to have a fear forever because one day I will realized all of these things. As a human being, we all have fear about life and I guess this is my fear. The uncertainties and the doubts are what makes these things a little scary.

March 19, 2022

19
$ 6.44
$ 6.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 5
Avatar for Sydney2
2 years ago
Topics: Growing old, Life, Fear

Comments

we all need to be old. But you know what we really miss our childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are many consequences in growing old. But that is life, life is constantly moving. We are mold to be strong in whatever storm we may encounter.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love my childhood. When I was young I do lots of fun. I don't want to be older. I want to be ever fresh.hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for reading my article Jijisaur! I know one day we will all get old and we need to move forward and keep going on because it's life. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How come when we were kids saying how we couldn't wait to grow up to be adults, did no one tell us it's a prank? Adulting is not at all what I thought it would be :D Gandang hapon, Sydney!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

To grow up in age I don't like that. we have rights to be younger. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know growing is a big trap and I want to go back being a kid now or remain just a teenager forever..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One must try to get financial freedom as much as soon possible. It can impact our happiness in our elder age moreover, Family can't be ignore at any phase of age

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung bata tayo lagi natin gusto na lumaki na pero ngayon tumatanda parang inaayawan ko na haha. Nakakatakot pala kasi ang daming mga bagay na kailangan mong gawin at mga responsibility na kailangan mong ifulfill.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and kapag matanda ka na palagi ka nalang nasa bahay at parang wala ka nang magawa sa buhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Live a good life, prepare yourself for that time, be read for it and you will definitely enjoy your old age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung pwede lng sana maging bata lng pero we need to grow our mind, our age, our life kasi kung close tayo sa growth walang mangyayari , we cannot learned instead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True Kleah, I was thinking if life was all about growth and lessons. I don't know parang gusto ko nalang na di nalang ako mabuhay hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sadly lahat eh tumatanda beh so be prepared. Ang gawin mo na lang eh enjoy each day of your life. Don; be afraid sa bagay na wala pa or di pa nangyayare kasi baka kakaisip mo eh di mo maenjoy ang younger days mo and mas nakakatakot yun kasi di mo pwede ibalik ang oras.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am feeling sad when I imagine to be old. I want to be younger forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat ate pachuchay, nakakatakot nga na sa kakaisip ko malilimutan ko yung kabataan ko. I should focus on the present kumbaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tama, ganun dapat ang mindset

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo nagooverthink lang siguro ako ate pachuchay hahaha ewan ko ba sa sarili

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku beh, ang bata mo pa, enjoyin mo lang ang life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not scared to grow old.. Im scared not to have someone with me when I grow old..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww sign na yan Jane na mag-asawa ka na 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unlike you, I'm not scared to get old. I loved the process of being old because I met different people, taste various foods, enjoy local and international shows, read many books and mangas.

You don't have to be scared of getting old. Would you rather stay at the state of worry or enjoy your life since you know you can only spend it once. Tomorrow has its worries, so don't become the worry itself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you DennMarc for the wisdom, I have realized it too. I should just enjoy my younger years rather than worry about the future. Thanks again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be scared my friend. Find your partner who will stay with you forever. Para dalawa kayong tatanda na walang kinakatakutan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks po pero ang hirap makahanap ngayon hahahah pero ang bata ko pa, for sure madami pang makikilala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoy your life being single.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes of course. It's more fun being a single to be honest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your thinking is right my friend. In old age maximum people suffer lot for care and money problem. So we should build our money enough before getting old.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's one of the things that makes every old people pressuring, the retirement and the savings. So many things in this world are putting weigh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What i fear most about old age is the Alzheimer's disease. I would just forget my memories with friends and loved ones just like that?!!!!!! No, i don't want to. But i can't remain young forever, i must grow old one day, i do not want to forget things i did with my friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, I do not want to have Alzheimer's disease and if that might happen, I guess it's better to be dead rather than alive but rarely even here. I also want to accept that we will grow old, something we must all have to face in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After reading your article now I am also overthinking about my old age I think important is when we are old is our family because we want love not money

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope I didn't lead you to be anxious about old age, yeah family is really something wonderful compared to money and we will realize it when we will get old.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I overthink of these things almost everyday. I sometimes ask myself like, what if all my goals won't happen and end up struggling to live in the future. It really scares me and it's one of my nightmares. Everyday, every night, I'm worried about my life in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad I'm not alone. I honestly thought I have went paranoid for thinking such things, I cannot help but wonder about getting old sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The most I've scared being sick and weak Sydney because I easily got sick then not being financially stable while others are Sydney. It's crawling at my mind but still fighting Sydney. I know it will not happen if we truly did our best and we should always be careful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also scared being sick Ramona, money cannot cure sickness that's why I always pray for a good health always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

why i also think like this maybe because i'm not married lol. Fear of getting old is indeed a reasonable perception because the beauty of life when you are young will be very different from the age when you are old. maybe the message of this story is take advantage of the easy times because it won't come back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so scary to get old and you will realize you haven't done good enough in life. I will just enjoy my younger years right now so that I won't have regrets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago