Peer Pressure: Being Inside the Relationship

18 64
Avatar for Sydney2
2 years ago

At what age does the peer pressure of being inside the relationship starts? Does it starts when you are already half way through your 20s? As a person turning 20 soon, I can already see the peer pressure towards the people below my age ranging from 14-20. They hook up, they like each other and they will seal for a relationship then they will break up so quick.

As a person who have never dated anyone, I have never experience the peer pressure of being in a relationship and I hope I will never. I see a lot of minors dating anyone every month hoping that the relationships they have failed to build will end. For me, it doesn't make sense. That is exactly why I do not like to rush because entering a relationship is not like playing unless you are treating it as a game then good for you.

I am not a high standards person. I just have a considerable standard in selecting for someone at the same point, I am weighing my brain over my heart. It means I am not letting my emotions control my right decisions because I want to be rational always.

These are the reasons why peer pressure doesn't affect me:

Is the world going to end if I have never dated anyone yet?

Nope.

Am I alone and lonely if I have not dated anyone?

Nope.

Am I less human if I have no experience of being in a relationships?

Nope.

Am I ugly if no one dated me? Nope.

Have I never experience love if I haven't been with someone? Nope, love is not found through that.

However I am not quite certain if I will never really ever experience this. If I will reach my 30 one day and I still haven't been in relationship my whole life, I think that is the time where I am outcasted and everyone else that I know are already married or couples. I don't like to think about it. I have my own ideology, philosophy and beliefs. If I know how to stand on my own, then maybe there's no reason for me to fear being outcasted in the future.

Another thing that I want to tell is that I have a fear in being inside the relationships.

1.) I Have Trust Issues

Nobody broke my trust like it's going to be my demise but I have trust issues because I am the kind of person who doesn't easily move on from everything. My attachment lasts longer more than my patience.

2.) I'm Scared of Being Cheated

After watching and hearing different stories from people who got cheated, I am scared for myself. I am a very loyal person to everything. I am loyal to my favorite singers, to the food I eat and everything that has a big part in my life. I am scared that my loyal personality will be taken for granted.

3.) I am a conservative person

Call me close minded but I do not like to be touch nor to be kiss. I want my body to be sacred and if the person will leave me because I am boring and very conservative then it's not my loss. We have different perspectives and ideologies.

4.) I want to stay away from toxic relationships

I do not like to fall in the trap of manipulations and abuse. That's why selecting a partner is very scary, you will not see their true colors unless you stay with them for a longer time. I do not like those kind of movies where they are romanticizing manipulation and they find it cool when in fact it wasn't.

After listing all these scary things, I had never develop a peer pressure towards the relationship. I am keen not to fall in the trap and I am smart to live my life wisely. I hope once I will get old and I'm still single, I will never feel alone. Although I still believe that for so many people around this world, there is always someone who is heaven sent and genuine to us. We have to be patient until we will find them and be smart not to rush everything.

February 19, 2022

10
$ 9.56
$ 9.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 6
Avatar for Sydney2
2 years ago

Comments

Love your thoughts my friend. What I actually noticed from the girls these days is that they wanted to have a bf because their friends have one. Supposedly, they should date to marryx not just for fun. But cases these days, I think they're dating for fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. Everyone nowadays are only dating for fun. I think it's rare to find someone who think about "date to marry."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's beautiful, you have youthful and pure thoughts; but life is struggle, so I don't give too much pressure for being loved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to remain single until I find the right one even it means I'm at the middle of my 30s.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm 27 pero till now puro crushes lang ang meron ako. I don't know I don't want to be in a relationship yet. Maybe di oa talaga time or di ko pa nahahanap ung for me. Mas masaya pa ring maging single, for me lang ha. I don't have any issues or what it's just that I'm not in a hurry to be in a relationship 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala namang masama diyan Ruffa. Iba iba tayo ng journey sa buhay and I believe na hindi natin kailangan sumabay palagi sa agos ng buhay. Minsan kailangan natin tahakin yung ibang daan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The records and news about RELATIONSHIP and cheating with heavy heartbreak will make a soft mind to stay off relationship especially when you know that it'll affect you much when you're the good one...just like you said

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's exactly the reason why being a single is better, the world today is different and it's rare to find genuine people. Everyone treat love as a game.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All you stated was my fear also. I just don't like to have in a relationship but as time goes by and as you grow of reality, everything will fall into places by knowing it all that there's also an another side of happiness by having someone in your life. Take time syd😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I know having someone is the best but I will wait for God's perfect timing so that there will be no regrets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree to some of your points, but you know when you fall in love. It's just an amazing feeling. You cannot hide it because it will always reflect outside. You know enjoy your auditing first, then see what will happen next.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know we can't chose whom to fall in love but we have the choice if we will let our feelings overwhelm us. That's why I always follow the rules "mind over heart."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your personality. We share things in common.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really? That's nice to hear. Being single is a good thing and not rushing is our philosophy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah doesn't need to rush to be in the relationship you will be able to find someone that can say your true love at the right time and place . I am glad that even though almost all of my friends is in the relationship they never pressure me to date someone because they are all already dating. I am 18 years old already and I didn't even have any girlfriend ever since then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am turning 20 this February 27 and I have never experience the urge to rush in relationships as well and I hope I will never experience that even at my 30s..you know that age is where everyone is already engaged lmao 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don't need to rush in order to get in relationship since it's your own decision not be in rush. Like what they say everything had exact time and place Nad when it comes to love someday you'll find the right guy that will love you and accept your flaws, it's like a gamble to enter in relationship,you might end up win or loss the game that's it's better to observe first before digging in into relationship. Always choose mind over heart.❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's my stigma in life and I really believe in perfect timing and right place for everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago