The Beat of its Meaning

2 22
Avatar for Stories4U
2 years ago
August 30, 2021 
Writer: Stories4u
Sponsors of Stories4U
empty
empty
empty

The song “Walang Natira” by Gloc 9 has a pleasant tune and I liked it the moment  I heard the beat. This song made me feel all the heartaches and griefs of the OFWs, their  families who was left behind and the countrymen.

It was like, I was part of it too and it  made me realize so many things. Gloc 9 was right when he said that our country has  good manpower but they appear to be going gone, leaving the country and going abroad.  They are Filipinos but they are working for other people when they should be here giving  their services for the country.

The song says, ‘Lupa kong sinilangan ang pangalan ay  Pinas, ngunit bakit parang puno na ang prutas ay pitas” because our country is like a  fruitful tree but the fruits are nowhere to be found, they already left the land where they  were born and raised. We are known for being hardworking and smart but the benefit is  going for other country and not ours. But what can people do when it was the only choice  they have.

They can’t just watch their family starve and do nothing. People was left with  no choice but to work miles away even if there are many uncertainties, even if it means  leaving their family because they just want to provide food in their family’s table, clothe  them and send their children to school. There are no local employments here and no  opportunities unlike abroad. I watched so many articles, documentaries and stories of  people who tried to work abroad. I watched the struggles they went through just to secure  a job abroad. They need to borrow money, sell their properties, etc. just like in the lyrics,  (Isasanla ang lahat ng kanilang mga pag-aari, Mababawi din naman yan ang sabi  pagnayari, Ang proseso ng papeles para makasakay na sa eroplano, O barko kahit saan  man papunta) They have sacrificed a lot but ended up being abused, famished, deprived  or worse killed.

They endured all the exhaustion, hunger and violence, that sometimes  end their life and instead of them going home to their families, it was their corpse. What’s  worse is that they will get no justice at all, leaving their families with manipulated stories  and endless questions and wonder what did went wrong, (Gugutumin sasaktan malalagay  sa piligro, Uuwing nasa kahon ni wala man lang testigo).

Their children who were left here  grew up without their parents at their side, feeling envy towards other kids who celebrate  special occasions with their parents and feeling the warmth of their touch. Some even  end up loathing their parents, blaming them for leaving but it wasn’t their fault because  they want nothing but to give them good life.

Closing Thoughts

This song, in general had touched my heart in many ways and made me feel  grateful for so many things. I may not be in a rich family but I am grateful that I have my  parents at my side. I may not have those gadgets, branded clothes, chocolates like other  kids but still lucky. Nothing can compare to the love and sacrifices of parents for their  family. OFWs are not just simply “mga kasambay,” or “mga walang pinag-aralan” because  they are more than that. These two songs made me appreciate them and look up to them  because they are fighters. Life is really hard with all those unforeseen events and  struggles that we are going through and will go through. I wasn’t into these genre of song  but it wakened my consciousness to this reality and made me look at the brighter things.


Latest Articles


Happy National Heroes Day. Have a blessed night guys!

At this juncture, I want to say thank you for reading! This has been @Stories4U. I hope you are well entertained!

Special thanks also to my sponsor ate @OfficialGamboaLikeUs . May God bless you more po 😊

4
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Sequoia
Sponsors of Stories4U
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stories4U
2 years ago

Comments

actually ung song is gustong-gusto ko, relate ako. naaano ako kasi ang kuripot ng gobyerno saka greedy mga pinoy, walang magagawa kundi magibang bansa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya sa lahat ng kapamilya ng mga nag aabroad, sana naman ma appreciatw nyo yung mga sacrifices na and kmustahin din sila paminsan minsan. Di yung pag wala ng pera, saka kukumustahin 😅.

$ 0.00
2 years ago