My Ode to 'Laal Ishq'

11 247
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Poetry, Feelings, Hope

Laal Ishq- Laal, meaning Red, and Ishq, Love.

Red Coloured love (Red signifies blood) is a classical song that is part of the movie- Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram Leela. Directed and composed by Sanjay Leela Bhansali, is an Indian adaption of Romeo and Juliet.

(Fun fact- The protagonist in the movie played by Deepika Padukone and Ranveer Singh fell in love during the shooting of the movie and have been happily married for 2 years)

Explaining Sanjay Leela Bhansali's work using words is like explaining a rainbow to the blind. Quite literally, because it's so colorful and impeccable.

The music work is heavy and complex. The details are minute and blend well. The Composer has done an exemplary job to combine them. It's not simply music, it's an art in itself.

The singer, Arijit Singh, is pious about his skill. You can feel his devotion towards his art through his emotions. It's pure magic.

Dear Laal Ishq,

Your words are precious than jewels and pearls. You inspire me in 279 ways because that's many words are consumed by you. I do not take the credit for writing this article, for words form themselves when I listen to you. I am merely a typist longing for your love.

*Check footnote for credits

When you sing, my heart grows a pair of ears of its own. I am warmth by the symphony of your music. Even when you are away, words do not separate us. You fill my heart with roses. You heal me. You caress me on days I can't sleep.

Dear Laal Ishq,

When you sing, these words-

*Check footnote for credits

I wish to submit myself to you, and let you make love to me over the moonlight. Your love is fiery yet tender. Your love is agonizing, yet benign. You bring in me a kind of passion I never knew I had. You arouse a cardinal desire in me.

You are raunchy, yet elegant and sophisticated in your own ways. You fill me with an air of ineffable sweetness.

I am not myself in your company.

Just like Arijit Singh (the singer), is your master, you are mine. I wish to be forever yours. You make me devotional to your music. In this eternal flame of devotion, I wish to chant in your holiness,

*Check footnote for credits

Dear Laal Ishq,

You are a familiar face in the crowd of unknown people. You are rays of sunshine penetrating through dense clouds on a rainy day.

You are a celebration of Diwali. You make me want to decorate my house with lights and flowers. You make me want to wear a saree and bindi. You make me want to dance without a care in the world. You make me forget about all my woes. You make me forget all worldly pleasures.

Everything is possible with you. I am swayed by your magic. Your love has endless possibilities.

Dear Laal Ishq,

In your company, I wish to cry endlessly in synchronization with your music, yet you make me smile from ear to ear. Why this contradiction?

You make me feel regal like a Queen yet, humble like a devotee. Why this contradiction?

You make me feel youthful, yet mature. Why this contradiction?

You make my heart beat faster, yet you are a freedom to my anxiety. Why this contradiction?

I am intoxicated by your words, yet you are an elixir for my hangover. Why his contradiction?

Is this infatuation or love? Is it possible that a cynic like me is finally falling for you? You are a cornucopia of emotions and I do not wish to live in longing. You have left me bewildered.

*Check footnote for credits

I never thought I was capable of writing metaphorically like this. This is my first piece on a song. Kindly let me know whether I should occasionally post in this format :)

*Credits

The lyrics are from the song, 'Laal Ishq'. However, the edit is mine. I have downloaded the background image and posted the lyrics over it. I hope that's ok?

10
$ 6.15
$ 5.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
+ 7
Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Poetry, Feelings, Hope

Comments

Now that gives a whole new meaning to the song. Good job! That's really romantic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you :) I'm glad you liked it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww you're quite the romantic. Hehehe. This reminds me, I still haven't watched the other movie yet. Lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehe looks like that, I had no idea either lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how you express your love for the song... And I love the message too..

I love how they sang it and the music instruments .. the trade mark of hindi music ..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it :) I had worked really hard on this one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really have a great lot of patience to explain the song line by line. Excellent.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am not going to take credit for it :/. The translation, are in the pictures, those are taken from the internet because my Hindi is little weak.

However, the article in itself (the written portion), is my writing, completely fictitious. Those are MY feelings towards the song, and not just an explanation of the song.

Simply explaining the song would be easy no? hehehe

You should listen to the song, you'd love it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, you write so well. I am not familiar with the song and the movie you've mentioned but, I watched Romeo and Juliet before, and I love the flow of the story even if it was a tragic one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Heyy, thanks very much :) I got so lost in writing and listening that I forgot to attach the link to the song! Thanks for reminding :)

You can hear it here- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PycY_BqbWaw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will surely watch it. Keep on writing such a great article. ^_^

$ 0.00
2 years ago