Fiction vs Non-Fiction Books

9 34
Avatar for StarLord
4 years ago

My sister reads lots of fiction books. Adventures. Romance. Fantasy.

I myself prefer non-fiction books. If I am going to read. Spending time learning seems a better investment to me. Time is precious after all. And knowledge is power and facilitates earning potential.

I think reading fiction does help to spur the imagination and learn to write better with so many authors expressing themselves with the written language. Presumably most of them are good if not great writers too. So fiction has academic and personal benefits, aside from the fictional story value. But fiction is more entertainment. I prefer watching movies.

I actually get excited reading non fiction books. Science, maths, english, religion, technology, business, society. Anything that adds value to my knowledge. I hate ignorance and knowledge helps to resolve that. I also like the truth. And knowledge helps to reveal that too. Being reasonable and rationale. So many "smart" people I know are not. And hold on to bias. :) lol

Well those are just some of the reasons I like reading non-fiction. Oh and I love reading dictionaries and learning new words.

StarLord.

6
$ 0.35
$ 0.25 from @Cain
$ 0.10 from @unitedstatian

Comments

I am an avid reader but anything that qualifies as a good read can sit on my desk or lap. I don't really lean on non fictionalised if they ain't biographies and poetic reads occupy half of my love for books!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have always preferred fiction over non-fiction, though lately I've been reading more non-fiction. I believe knowledge is important, but so is creativity and imagination. We need both in this world.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yes we do indeed. A good balance is desired. Benefits to both. I guess knowledge plays a more important role in my life than the later. There will always be an opportunity cost to my choice.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I'm like that. I love some fiction, but it's so hard to find the book to make me grab it again and again..

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Reading is a very important source of learning. It is as necessary for me as eating. Reading provides food for the mind. But don't frown at fiction; if it is well written fiction, there is something to learn from that as well. Bad fiction, however, might be wasted time - but so might bad non-fiction.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

My post does not frown on fiction. I just prefer non-fiction for the reasons cited. I enjoy movies over books for my fiction. Books do generally create a more detailed picture in ones mind. Enjoy your fiction! :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Understood. I didn't mean anything bad with it. Truth to tell, I read more non-fiction than fiction, but I appreciate both. And I understand exactly what you mean when you write that you get excited by reading non-fiction books.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Great write up. I like reading both. I am currently reading 'All quiet on the western front'. It is a good read. Got a few more on the pile to get to as well.

$ 0.01
4 years ago

Ok I will quickly check that book out to see what it is about. Sounds interesting. I like war and history stuff. Thanks

$ 0.00
4 years ago