Stop being entitled

1 17
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

I grew up believing no one owed me anything, and it’s the truth. If you look into your life you’ll understand that you are on your own. Nobody will understand you, except you. We all have that Uncles or Aunties we hate because he or she is stingy and doesn’t give us money,lol! Now that you are old enough, how many people have you rendered financial assistance to?

Stop thinking some people have the money but refuses to give you. We are always so quick at making conclusions when it comes to humans like us. We need to understand that some people do not have, and they can’t give what they do not have. Stop bothering people to do what is not in their capacity for you. No one got you when it comes to your life. My dad use to say to me “Tee, it is the work of your hands that can’t deceive you”. Do not wait for assistance from anyone, keep pushing, keep hustling. There was a time I literally thought it’s my siblings duty to credit my account after every paycheck they get. Until one day my brother said I was being so entitled. I gave that sentence a long thought. If my brother could tell me I was being entitled, then one day my partner will tell me so. Truly, I was being entitled because I forgot they got bills to pay and the money isn’t even enough to cater their needs not to talk of bothering them for mine.

I was having a conversation with a male friend today and he said he hate his sister’s boyfriend because he is stingy. Then, I asked him how much have you given your girlfriend’s sister? He told me he didn’t have one, and even if he did where’s the money. You don’t have the right to hate on anyone because they don’t do what you expect them to do. Nobody owe you anything. Work hard and prepare yourself for the future. Don’t sit around waiting for someone to foot your bills. I really think we are being selfish for believing some certain people have to do somethings for you. It’s so unfair how we think some people owe us. People are out there struggling with life and you think because he is collecting $500 paycheck you think he is rich? We really need to change this mentality. It’s so unfair the way we are quick at judging people.

The issue of how the richest Uncle in every family is suppose to be nice to all relatives confuse me a lot. Every family has this Uncle who we assume he’s rich just because he’s out of the country. We hear our parents talking about this particular uncle and how stingy he is, and then this stuff is being passed on the offsprings. It is not supposed to be that way. Does anyone care about this uncle or has anyone asked how life is treating him, but once one of the relatives call, they exchange pleasantries and the next thing is to ask for money with the assumption that he has excess. Which is not good. Yes, some people are not ready to help even if they have, but at the end of the day they don’t owe you anything. That’s the saddest truth. Try and understand people before you hate them. Work hard and give yourself the life you desire, stop waiting for someone to do that for you. At the end of the day, it’s your life, your success is yours.

When I was little, I used to tell my mom that I’ll marry a rich man. She saw that I was desperate but never said anything. It was more like ladies want to be taken care of by guys, and not them having the money to take care of themselves.
On this fateful day, I was telling my dad about the conversation I had with my mom, and how she reminded me that I always talk about marrying a rich man and now she’s scared I will be following Internet fraudsters around in school because of their money. Then, my dad said there’s nothing like marrying a rich man. Tee, you need to work-hard to be comfortable in your own way and successful, that is when you will attract guys that are wealthy. Don’t wait for a rich man to come marry you. Make yourself a subject not an object. That was what changed my motive that day. Our understanding matters a lot. That Uncle doesn’t owe you anything, nobody does.

3
$ 0.67
$ 0.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MichaelBCH
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

Comments

Honestly I think you're very correct. Everyone has their own needs to cater for, and we shouldn't just expect them to give us anything even if they're rich. Each man with his own head. We shouldn't feel entitled to anything. Nice to meet you and I must confess I like your write up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago