Patience

4 45
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

Patience is an essential trait for anyone. It is the quality of being able calmly to endure suffering, toil, delay, vexation or the likes. Patience may involve perseverance in the face of delay. If you have patience you are able to stay calm and not get annoyed, for example, when someone takes a long time, or when someone is not doing what you want them to do.

One of my flaws is impatience. I don’t have the ability to endure difficult circumstances, I don’t have the ability to wait or endure without complaint. If there is one thing I want to change about myself, it is the impatience.
In 2017, I failed my nursing exam. I was in the run to get another form from another school. My parents said I should wait till the following year and take JAMB( which is an exam you take before you gain admission into any university). I couldn’t wait till the following year. I was so sad that my mates were already getting admission, forgetting that some were still at home learning some trade, but I was concerned about those who were entering the university. I took the exam without anyone's consent and still didn’t meet the cutoff. That year was really a bad year for me. Immediately the results were out, I rolled on the bare floor outside the compound calling myself a failure. There was no one there to console me. If I had been given a hug by my mom it would have eased the pain I was feeling inside of me, but because I did my wish, nobody was there to console me. If I were to be patient enough, I could have prepared way better. I had 45% and the cut off was just 50%. If it was my time, I believed I wouldn’t have gotten that exact mark but I wasn’t patient, and I wanted everything to go in my own way.
I waited for the following year, I passed my JAMB and got admission to the best state university as at now, and I’m studying Agricultural Economics. Could I have said Nursing wasn’t my way, I was just pushing it? I think the future will tell.

We should learn to be patient. You should know you can’t run faster than your time. Whatever you going through now, someday you gonna look back and be proud of yourself. Impatience will only put you in positions you don’t like. Yeah, you may get what you could have waited for in a minute but it never going to be worth it until you wait for it.
We all have so many things we’d lost due to impatience. There was a time I was into Oriflame (it’s a company that deals with all sorts of skin care products, deodorants and all), I quitted because I wasn’t patient enough, I didn’t want something that deals with referrals because I’m a shy person and I could hardly look into anyone's eyes. Today, a friend who I introduced into the business is a 15% manager and aside getting paid by the company, she goes on vacation. We’ve lost so many opportunities due to impatience. We can’t wait for something because it’s going to delay.

We need to know that whatever is worth waiting for is worth it. Are you looking for admission, are you looking up to God for the fruit of the womb, are you in search of a job, are you in search of a spouse, please be patient. I just want to tell you that God hasn’t forgotten you. It’s not easy but try and wait, it’s worth waiting.

I will be sharing the tips that have helped me so far:
1) Practice mindfulness
2) practice accepting your current circumstances.
3) Actively build a tolerance for being a bit comfortable: let other people go ahead of you in line or in traffic.
4) when you’re feeling rushed, consciously slow down.
I hope this article helps someone. Merry Christmas in advance lovers🥰.

8
$ 4.37
$ 4.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

Comments

This Article really got me. Nice Writeup

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Patience is my greatest issue back then, I am not good in waiting. However, as the time passed by, I've come to realized that impatience will bring me no where.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The article thought me alot, with this I have gained some tips

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Patience is a virtue every one should possess and we need not to rush things at all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago