My best friend

5 29
Avatar for Soulwriter
1 year ago

On this day, I was really late for chemistry practical. On getting to the laboratory everywhere was crowded. Then, I saw my class rep collecting money from some people, so I asked the girl standing next to me what the money was for and how much were they paying?. At first I didn’t notice her make up until I requested for her practical manual. This girl literally had time to draw her eyebrows and baked her face with powder and contour. I was shocked because we were freshers. It was our first year in college. The lab attendant came in, he gave us just assignment. So, I requested for her number and left.

I’m not a friendly person but I’m likable. The first thing people get attracted to about me is my color. My dark is always shinning. I’m always lucky to have beautiful girls as friends. Trust me, I don’t pick friends, it just happen. I love this girl the day I saw her but I didn’t think we were going to be really close not to talk of being best friends till date. I noticed she was a social media person because I saw her post on WhatsApp frequently, but I wasn’t that kind of person. It was close to Christmas period and we were just on “hello” and “hi” level till January.

The school management asked us to resume on the 6th of January. I’m always resuming early, not that I like school that much, I’m just always happy to run away from the house chores and other errands which I’d always dislike. We were on talking level on WhatsApp. So, I asked her one day that when was she coming to school and she said the coming Sunday in that year. My friends as at that time haven’t resumed as well.

On Sunday she told me she was back. I told her I would come visit her and asked for her location. Luckily, she stayed really close to my hostel but didn’t know how to describe, I had to wait at my church as it was the popular place in that area. She came over to meet me there. We exchanged greetings and was walking back to her hostel, only for me to pass in front of my hostel, I was actually pissed because she could have just told me to wait on the field opposite my hostel instead of making me wait at a far end. We finally got to her hostel which was just at the back of my hostel.

Her room was quite organized and comfortable. In my school, we don’t have a private hostel. Everyone has the right to rent hostels. The structures are always the same but you can choose to arrange it anyhow you like. I remember she made me noodles and fried eggs that day. Trust me, she’s a good cook. We chatted for a while and I left. She is my departmental mate and stays close to my hostel which made us really compatible. I couldn’t ask for more. At least, we get to go to school together, sit next to each other and go home together after lectures.

We started getting really close. I remembered she told me she wanted to go for a birthday party that same January but she was doubting, she didn’t know if she should go or not, but I told her to. She got back and brought me Snacks and Monster energy drink. I felt that was really cool and thoughtful. Lectures began and we started moving around together. We became so inseparable. You would always see us together. One day someone said who is Tee among you? People started mistaken us for each other. I love the friendship right from the beginning. In the long-run, she wasn’t opened. I was the carefree type. I could say anything and she would just look at me and smile.

The first semester in my first year was really occupied. I didn’t have much time like I have now. I mean, from lectures, I would go home and eat, then go for tutorials and get back in the evening. The girls I was staying with were in their final year. So, they would go for night class. Then, one day I decided to go with them and it turned to a daily routine for me till they left. My first year in college was the most serious year. There was a lot coming from the seniors. They would tell you MTH 101 is the hardest course and carries 5 units. If you fail it then you will have a low CGPA which is not good for start. I wasn’t part of people who said mathematics was really hard, just that I never liked any subject right from high school. In the beginning, I said I didn’t like school. Yes, I don’t, but I do well in school.

My best friend is the most gentle of all my friends. She’s extremely cool. One thing I always complain about is her gentleness. You can cheat her and still go scot-free. You can hurt her and she’s still going to give you a second chance. I mean who does that? She’s really the opposite of me. If you hurt me, I will tell it to your face. And once I speak my mind it’s gone. But her, she won’t say a word and still talk to you the next day, but once she has it full, she brings it out and wouldn’t mind how it settles in your body. She’s with one person ever since our first year, but I really don’t know the number I am now. Lol. Anytime we are together. I use to be like, You ate BJ’s chicken and chips and still didn’t tell me to date him, You ate Daniel’s money and still didn’t tell me to date him and so on. Lol. You know those things girls do.

Trust me, I didn’t know what to write. I just know I needed to publish something. Lol.

3
$ 0.26
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Soulwriter
1 year ago

Comments

First and foremost that picture made me wanna read the post. And if you actually started with the last line, I'd still have read it. The way you described your best friend makes her sound like a character that matches her beauty.

And about fine girls befriending fine girls sha... Perhaps it's cos real attracts real

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You have eyes for good things.😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's only the visually impaired that wouldn't notice her. Wahala for who say the beautiful ones are not yet born.

And yeah, I love good things 😋

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your bestie is really beautiful I must say but are you dark? I have always seen you on WhatsApp as light ooo, correct me if I am wrong ooo. Can she be my bestie too 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She can’t abeg😂 I’m dark, just not too dark.

$ 0.00
1 year ago