Humans

2 20
Avatar for Soulwriter
1 year ago

Countless times I’ve heard people say what people think about you doesn’t really matter, because humans will be humans. If you are someone like me who thinks other people’s opinions matter, then we’ve got work to do. Whatever people think about you doesn’t define you. You know yourself and at least there is someone closer to you who knows you better. Don’t let anyone’s negative comment about you get to you. At the end of the day, it doesn’t define you. The moment you try to digest everything people say about you, you start having a low self-esteem and it keeps going on.

In my high school days, I used to have a shoe brush in my bag and there is this particular way I carry myself. Even when I don’t think I was doing too much, someone out there is saying she likes “Shakara”, more like acting she’s way perfect than anyone. I was younger then. There was nobody in my set that year who didn’t have that word against me. It got to a point and I was called a “snob”. These stuffs got to me at a point, because in the girls hostel, they were saying the same thing due to the fact that, I told guys NO whenever they asked me out. At a point, I was trying to be the perfect girl that people won’t fish out any flaw about me, but you can’t just prove to everyone that you are not who they think you are, only few understood. I was over high school drama after we all graduated. I thought I was already over people’s Assumption about me, but it was just the beginning.

I got to college. At first, it was cool. I’m a very quiet and shy person. When I’m talking to people closest to me, I don’t look at them eye to eye. I’ve got few friends and they’ve been the best till now. On this particular day, someone called me “Proud” for not relating with other people in the room. How do I explain to people that not everyone is jovial and not everyone is quick at making friends in public. People would see you and assume that you are this or that without not knowing anything about you. I have always been by myself all my life. I enjoy myself company. Even when I go out with friends, I’m always eager to leave first because I don’t stay out late. I’m a homebody. Recently, someone said I have a frown face. So, I was in a friend’s room that day and this particular person said he came in to take water and I had a frown face on. Firstly, I didn’t know when the person came to pick water and I didn’t know I had a frown face on. Maybe I was having a straight face and he just concluded I frown a lot or probably I didn’t like him. How do I tell this person I wasn’t frowning at him, and I don’t dislike him either. Not everyone has a smiling face, not everyone is jovial, not everyone will jump at you at your first meeting. Some people can’t even control their emotions, once they are sad, it is written all over them, and when they are happy you get to know too. While, there are some that keeps a smiling face whenever they are happy or sad. People will always have something to say, it is the same for everyone. But, it is left to you to take it or leave it. There is going to be something people will want to fault about you or want to point out about you, but it is up to you to process what the person said. Ask yourself if it’s worth your time or worries. Everybody is entitled to their opinions, you can’t just let that get to you. People talk, but it is not taking anything from you. It’s not like that’s how you are, it’s just them who needs to understand you. Worry less about what people think about you, but work towards being a better person for yourself, not for anyone because they will keep seeing something wrong about you. Do have a lovely day!

3
$ 0.21
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Soulwriter
1 year ago

Comments

People will always have opinions about you...why? Because they want to control things the way they want without caring about why others do things the way they do them. Life will either bless you or bury you. It's not what others say about you that matters but what you say to yourself when they are done talking. I've stopped worrying what people think a long time ago...ever since I know they would say anything just to control the narrative and have their way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People talk and will continue talking no matter what.. they'll always see flaws in whatever we do,being yourself regardless their I'll talk is all that matters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago