A day I will never forget

1 24
Avatar for Soulwriter
1 year ago

Thursday, June 09, 2022 is a date I will never forget. On that day, time stopped for a moment. I was at my boyfriend’s hostel a night before, I planned on traveling home the next day. The day was a normal day, it ended quite fast. Around 3:27am in the midnight, we heard someone knocking at his door. It was his friend. He’d seen the robbers entering into his neighbor’s room. He stood up and opened the door and I heard them whispering,I couldn’t figure out what they were saying but I was hearing noises in the veranda. The next thing he said to me was “Tee, go into the bathroom”, I did immediately. I actually thought maybe some guys were looking for someone as it was a student area, not knowing some robbers were around. I went into the bathroom and stood close to the door. I was trembling because I didn’t have an idea of what was happening. The next thing I heard was a sound, like as if two people were dragging a door. The robbers were throwing kicks at his door, and he was guiding the door. It was that moment I knew there was war. They noticed he was supporting the door and they shot at the door, with fear he left the door and a kick jacked the door open. Still in my thought, I heard one of the robbers say to my boyfriend and his friend to lay flat on the ground. I thought I was going to die at that moment. I was scared. He ordered them to drop their phones. I had left my phone on the bed, so mine was taken as well, with a MacBook, a PS4 and a power bank.

There was a long silence, so I thought they’d left, until I heard it’s your girlfriend’s phone from one of the robbers mouth. Another one said, where is your girlfriend? That was how Peter denied Jesus for the fourth time, lol! My boyfriend told me to come out of the bathroom, I was out. And the next thing I heard was, lie down there with a gun pointed at my head. I can’t describe my countenance at that moment because it is only in Nigerian movies I watch robbers pointing a gun at someone’s head. The robbers were four, so one said what’s your passcode? I totally forgot my passcode at that moment. I stammered close to three times before I could actually get the passcode of the phone I’ve been using going to a year, correctly. You can imagine the fear in me. I was already saying my last prayer because...I had lost hope. They left the room, and later came back to take the padlock and lock us in. I’m grateful because nobody was hurt. Thank God they took just material things and no life was lost. At daybreak, everyone were outside and we were talking about the incident. What we should have done before they came into the room, how my boyfriend and his friend could have kept hold of the door if they knew it wasn’t a real gun. It wasn’t just something I’d pray for my enemy to experience cause some people would have collapsed in the bathroom bare hearing their name called out. We later went to MTN office to retrieve our lines. We went to the nearest police station to submit a statement and immediately requested they track our devices. Yesterday wasn’t a good day at all, because we were moving from one place to the other in the sun. I had my breakfast around after 2 in the afternoon. In the evening, I got beating by rain on my way back. It was this morning I remembered read.cash and I was like how will I cope because my seed words were saved on my old phone. I couldn’t remember the mail I used nor the password. Thanks to @Greatwolfman for saving my ass. He introduced me to read.cash and still had our old chats saved. I lost my pictures and some important contacts because there was no backup. I’m glad I got my account back. Feels good to be back.

2
$ 0.50
$ 0.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Soulwriter
1 year ago

Comments

Wawu, that was mad ooo. Thank God no one was injured or killed, I am happy you and your boyfriend are saved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago