An Open Letter from a Kid Who Cares

4 23
Avatar for Sophia_2021
3 years ago

March 3rd, 2020

Hi! My name's Ottis and I'm seven years old.

I am already in first grade and going to school has been fun. I get to have money to buy fishball and my classmates and I can play at noon, or after class hours, or before the teacher says that it is time to go home.

One time, I heard my big sister and mama talking about my moving-up ceremony in April. They said they are going to buy me a new pair of black leather shoes because I was one of the honor pupils in our class. I was thrilled! But then I just woke up one day hearing all kinds of stuff about a certain virus. Papa said that we have to be careful. And mama said that I am not anymore allowed to go outside and play with Abigail, my neighbor.

I don't understand anything about this virus but I can say that everybody is afraid of it. People did not go to church anymore and they seem to have to get a certain paper in the municipal hall so that they can be permitted to go out to buy food in the market or to go to work. By the way, it's called Corona Virus but big sister told me that we can also call it COVID-19. I suddenly remember that movie about zombies and it was totally scary.

My family and I usually watch the news together every after dinner and we all get to see people in Manila getting sick. Big sister said that the virus is some kind of genetic mutation from bats and that it came from China. But I honestly did not understand the word mutation so I did not ask any further. Though I wish I was big enough to fully get the meaning of that word because the news has been reporting about dead people, and wearing masks, and staying at home and I don't understand all of it! Now, it has been a month since the government warned us about staying at home, which my sister explained that's called Enhanced Community Quarantine or ECQ, and so many things have happened since then.

Yes, I miss going to school and playing with my friends outside and the first week of ECQ has been very very boring but my sister was very clever in inventing family activities at home that eventually, we got used to it and even had fun. In my seven years of existence, this has been the first time that mama and papa have stayed and played with us for long hours at home. We got barbecue parties in our backyard and sister and mama have spent some days baking cookies or cooking pancit canton. We often watch movies, do painting, and gardening too. We have spent lazy afternoons sleeping in the sala since it's summer and hot and we would wake up with aruzcaldo or any snacks prepared for us. Recently, big sister downloaded phone apps called TikTok and We Sing so making funny videos and singing have also become our bonding. She has also taught me reading and Math and I realized that I am better at Math than my sister.

Though there are times when mama and papa have to go outside because of their work. Papa works as a security guard while mama works in a food factory. Big sister said our parents are heroes because they are considered as front liners just like the doctors, nurses, policemen, scientists, community officials, journalists, and barangay tanods. Although we are luckier because our parents are not doctors and they get to go home still, unlike the other kids whose parents work in hospitals or police stations. Their parents are not allowed to go home and that's just totally sad. Anyway, staying at home with family is the best thing that can ever happen to a kid. I wish every child gets to understand that and I also wish that all parents will know how important it is to follow the government this time around. I know not all families in my country are blessed with a home and I do hope the rich people will help them. But above all, I also pray that COVID-19 will go away because it's causing us so much worry and fear.

Papa said that most people in Manila and other cities and places are naughty and do not follow the policy that's why the virus is spreading. I want to encourage everyone to cooperate with the government and have compassion, kindness, and cooperation instead of being bad and naughty citizens.

But I am just seven years old and I don't know how to convince everyone about it. Can you help me spread this message by sharing this letter? Thank you so much and please, stay at home and be safe. Let's spread love instead of the virus.

Lovingly,

Ottis

5
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
Avatar for Sophia_2021
3 years ago

Comments

Though you're 7 and do not understand everything but for me you think way better that some ignorant adults who ignored the minimum health standards. Much appreciated from a medical frontliner like me 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, Miss for the upvote and for your review. I appreciate it a lot. And Ottis does too 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like your article po plus the ate said about mutation even though the kid is still seven years old. It also happened to me when the quarantine existed and I felt dumbfounded at the results

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for tho review 🥰.

$ 0.00
3 years ago