The national dish of my region

16 65
Avatar for Snezana28
3 years ago

My dear virtual friends, I want to share with you the recipe for the national dish of my region and the valley of the river Lim.

The characteristic national dish in the Priboj area, without which it is difficult to imagine any celebration with the local hosts, is called ćeške.

It is prepared from chicken, barley, cream and various spices. The food, they say, is of great caloric value, and no one has tried to explain its taste because it is impossible to compare it with any other taste or dish. This is a real gastronomic challenge, and the Tourist Organization of Priboj came up with the idea to make it a local brand. That is why every year, within the Ilindan Days, a competition in preparing meals is organized in Pribojska Banja.

The very word ćeške is of Persian origin and means a dish made of chicken meat, which disintegrates during cooking.

Ćeške is a dish made of peeled barley grain (gershle), chicken meat and old cream.

When preparing this dish, there are a few unwritten rules:

1. Ćeške are never salted until cooked

2. Ćeške when cooked is mixed in one direction (clockwise), because this is the best way to create threads from cooked meat.

3. Keške is mixed with a wooden spoon

4. Keške is most delicious when topped with melted old cream.

Recipe

Components

gershle (barley) 600gr

chicken (chicken) 1 kg

butter

water

Preparation:

Wash the gershle in 2-3 waters, then put them in an espresso pot, pour over the water and cook until it boils. (don't salt !!)

Salt the chicken, put it in another pot with water, and cook on high heat for about 1 hour until the bones begin to separate from the meat.

Put boiled gershle in the water in which the chicken was cooked, add minced chicken meat to them, and start cooking at a moderate temperature. (do not salt or mix!)

After 30-40 minutes, remove from the heat, add salt and pepper (chili can be added, if you like), then pour melted butter or margarine, and the dish is ready. It is served warm, it can be spread cold on bread, and it can always be reheated without changing the taste.

Thank you! @Snezana28

11
$ 0.06
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Swca.ch
$ 0.01 from @RaemaKhan
+ 1
Sponsors of Snezana28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Snezana28
3 years ago

Comments

Ćeške is just sooooo delicious.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the kind words.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

One question? Could I prepare this with kaymak? 😃 Could I try, or better not?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

One question? Could I prepare this with kaymak? 😃 Could I try, or better not?

Sa starim kajmakom se i priprema ima recept i sa puterom ali je sa kajmakom najbolje.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't tried this dish of yours so far, I'll make it soon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never heard for this food but I think it is delicious food and tasty good.Thanks for sharing recipe,I will try to make it one day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it is a specialty of southwestern Serbia.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a recipe that is easy to make and I feel good looking at it. It will taste even more delicious because of the chicken and butter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a recipe that is easy to make and I feel good looking at it. It will taste even more delicious because of the chicken and butter.

Yes, and even better if you put cream with milk.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay Dear, Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly, this is the first time I've heard of this dish. I have never been to Priboj, but I would like to try this dish

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly, this is the first time I've heard of this dish. I have never been to Priboj, but I would like to try this dish

Yes, it is a specialty of my region and it is also made in Herzegovina.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't eaten this dish and I would really try it, I have to come to your event.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't eaten this dish and I would really try it, I have to come to your event.

Ha ha ha yes one day on Ilindan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have never tasted this dish but it looks fantastic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have never tasted this dish but it looks fantastic.

Thanks, it's very tasty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago