My Phonophobia: Cannon shot

9 46
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago

Greetings everyone 🖐️

I saw a movie yesterday that Cannon shot was used and it took me back to the lanes of memories.

Do you know Cannon shot? I know that people brought up in the urban area wouldn't be more acquainted with this but it's a thumb up for the rural People.

We have different type of cannon shots but I'd be talking more of the one I've seen and experienced and I think it has the deepest and loudest sound.

Check my generous sponsors ❤️

Sponsors of Sley
empty
empty
empty

It's made of some inches length of thick pipe with a one end opening and the other end with a pin end which is usually pushed to the earth surface when it's to be used. It's used with a gun powder which is locally prepared. The pipe is fixed to the ground and the gun powder would be spread on a short distance to the pipe, that when a fire is touched with the gun power it follows the short distance line of the gun powder to connect the pole and that's the shot. Gboooaaa!

At the time of writing this, I asked my coworkers if they know local cannon shots and they all said yes. That it has the loudest deep and fierce sound. I'm not just saying, this type of cannon shot is just what they said it is. No cap🧢

This is it, small and mighty

Image source|Lead image

Then in my home town, it's usually used during rites performance such as burial ceremonies, marriage ceremonies or festivals. It's also used to acknowledge the presence of some high profile People in an event.

My unforgettable experiences🙈🤦

Phonophobia is the fear of loud noise. This fear is seen in many people and I'm among the many people. Though not anymore because I've outgrown.

I was a big victim of fear to the sound of a cannon shot. Just like is said, I was brought up in the rural area where things are done locally and that's home town to many people in the city and as such, occasions such as marriages and burials are done frequently there. Isn't it thesame in your home town?

Those days, we encounter series of marriages and burials which cannon shots are Paramount. There were scenarios that I would run away from our house to stay in someone's house when I noticed that an occasion is very close to our house. Once I noticed that a ceremony is nearby, I would first of all move around and locate where the gun is to be fixed and once I observe that it's very close, zoooom! that would be the end of my stay in our house that day. Haha🤣

One day I got beaten by my dad because I left to someone's house and I got pinned down by sleep there, they searched and searched no way, and it was around 1:00am they found me. How could you leave the house to sleep somewhere without informing us?. It was cane they used on me that night.

It was clear to my parents that I had the phobia, so they deviced a means to curb it a little. Whenever there's an occasion nearby, my mom would check the time the cannon would be shot and take me away from the environment 🤦

Many funny experiences to say...

One day I was riding a bicycle when I stumbled at a burial ceremony and I was speeding so fast, suddenly my eyes sighted the the gunman about to light the fire to the gunpowder that performs the magic. Yeeeeh! I fell out of the bicycle and ran to another way. It a flash moment for me as I didn't know it went. I returned back to scene to get my bicycle on the ground after the shot. People around laughed me hahaha🤣🤣🤣

I tried to kill the phobia then but it was so tough.

Again, one of my uncles died and the custom is, they are to dance round the grave. My immediate younger brother joined them as the Cutlass bearer. I wasn't at home because I ran off. I was told he followed them all through in the midst of countless blazing of cannon shots. I was intimidated then hahah.

I tried to tame the phobia during the days of fireworks and bangers. Yeah, it worked for me. During Christmas and New year celebration, we are fond of bangers and fireworks, infact that's the fun of the celebration because it's usually a competition especially the crossover night yeah you remember, right?

But thank God, today if you give me a fire to light up a cannon shot, I would jump on it with gladness with no single fear.

What about you, are you phonophobia?

Tell me about yours

Thank you for stopping by

17th November 2021

I was a bit occupied yesterday that blocked my chances of visiting your Articles. Pardon me for that.

A big thanks to all my SPONSORS, commenters, readers, likers and upvoters. Much love here

4
$ 0.24
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Sley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Greetings my new friend.... By reading your article, i remembered one thing, once i was drinking tea and suddenly a Noise of shock electricity was come and the cup of tea immediately fell down on the floor 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha. You cracked me up🤣. Loud noises are scaring sometimes if the phobia is there. Thank you for coming to my article. I'd love to read your writings...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much mu friend, I will definitely enjoy a lot by reading your next upcoming interesting articles♥️.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If the noise is expected, i don't get scared but if it's sudden i will jp o😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha. Actually that's how it's supposed to be but.... forgerrrit, my body still jumps even if. It's just like knowing that they are going to Pierce a hot knife into my skin, the glance of the knife alone would make me scream🙈🙈 Thank you for stopping by🙌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not scared of loud noise I just hate it but gun shot 😂😂 I'm scared of it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahah🤣 Guy you need to hear this gun shot, it has power to shake the earth. The thing is scary. Thank you🙌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am still phonophobia because I get scared when I hear a loud voice. There was a loud thunder lightening two days ago at night, I nearly fell from the chair I was sitting on then. But I don't think I would get scared if I know where the sound is coming from.

I haven't heard of cannon shot before.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahah. Thunder's own is out of this earth. Due to stories I've heard about it it, each time it strikes coupled with the loud noise I quickly assume it want to kill or electrically shock.🙈 So you haven't heard of cannon shot? You are a City girl I forgot🤣 Thank you for stopping by 🙌

$ 0.00
2 years ago