Checked On

5 27
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago

Greetings everyone 🖐️

No doubt we derive joy when someone is asking after us. That feeling is unbeatable, you feel important and cared for.

My sponsors ❤️

Sponsors of Sley
empty
empty
empty

Have you ever experienced when someone you're far off or someone you knew long time ago call to ask after you? Yes, I know you've experienced that and you felt loved.

Infact, I received such call last week that almost made me fall in love(yeah, I fell and stood up)😍. A female friend I met three years ago called to persuade me to apply for a job, I was trying to dudge the offer but she insisted I must. I wasn't chanced to work on a CV that'll suit the offer and she offered to adjust my CV for me. I had to stop and rethink and ask her;

Me: Hey ma'am, what's up with the persuasion? This is your first time checking up on me as we aren't that close, Is there anything I'm missing?

She laughed

She: What is bad to care for someone that has been good to me back then?

Yeah, I was once their leader in a function some years ago.

Me: I don't know but... you've really touched my heart.

I forwarded all the details required to her and she did justice to the task. I felt loved and cared for.

°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°

I've been privileged to live in the midst of different kinds of people, tribes and traits especially in church settings. I've seen all manners when it comes to checking up on People.

Do you know that some people love being asked after? Like it has become an habit to them.

Are you among them? Well, there's nothing bad in seeking to be checked on, but it becomes a bad when it becomes an habit. Yeah, read it again.

Lead image

Image Source

I was very close to church office then at home town and I was fully aware of lots of things that happened , infact most of the report passes through my desk to the pastor...a big privileged.

Do you know that some people would love to fall sick on a regular basis just to be used as a bait to attract "checking up on me". Can you imagine that? I know of a woman we normally visit when she's sick, a certain period, she fell sick and the news got to us late, so we couldn't go for visitation. The next shocking attitude she gave to the church was that she stopped coming to church because she was sick and pastor didn't asked of her. We had to approach her, explain things to her and miraculously She resumed church.

Outside the church settings also, there are people out there, that are too addicted to this effect, they desire to be checked on always. Just a slight headache they'd start expecting a whole Community to line up at their compound or expecting their phone to be burzled like a customer care line.

My manager here in our office is a clear example of this, when he falls sick, he'd keep repeating it to expect sympathy. If he run around for some Activities (which normally intensify the sickness) and you try to submit a report to him at that spot. He would start ranting (sorry for the word) "I've been managing my strength since morning and you're trying to add yours, have you asked about my health since morning?" This attitude weakens me to the bone. Must we ask about it always like he's a baby?

The worst part of it is the quarrelsome attitude given to the people that didn't checked on them(you) as expected.

_______________________

I have been wondering... What if you die in the midst of sickness expecting a checked on?

To the people that love to fall sick, so as to be checked on, what if you die along the way? Would you be alive to dish our quarrel to the people didn't checked on you?

I related this messaged to a lady one day, she was ranting why I didn't checked on her frequently when she was sick and I told her "if you had died via the sickness, would you been alive today to say all this?" She kept mute.

I know to check up on loved ones is very vital, but please stop expecting much from people or making it an habit. The people are you're expecting to check on you on a hourly basis have their problems to solve too.

Thanks to @remona for the sponsorship. More BCH to your wallet

Thanks for reading

19th November 2021

6
$ 0.24
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of Sley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This is very important to check on our loved ones very often.. I have a family member who does not even care about us even though I was the one who had to message them every single time to check on... it's frustrating some times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha I know a lot of people who are like this, especially one of my boy bestfriend. But I'm trying to understand them:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, some people are like that. Might be that they just need little attention (love) from others so they would feel better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I rarely receive those kind of calls though most of my long time friends don't even have my contacts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No need to mention, it's my pleasure to support your work. I enjoy reading your post :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago