National ID Registration

0 19
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

"You need to present a valid id to get a valid id" hmmm sounds ridiculous but it's so so true. Tell me if you disagree with what I just stated.

It was last year that the registration for a National ID started. My two daughters have to wake up as early as 3 am so that they could go to the designated venue and be among those who can be allowed to register becase there is a limited slot. They can only entertain about 300 applicants per day so you have to be early so you can secure your slot. They left at about 4 am and arrived at the venue at 4:15 am, living near the mall where the registration venue is is an advantage to us. They are 19 and 20 in line, and after they got there, more people started to arrive. It's a goos thing they got there ahead of the others.

They opened the venue at 8 am. They were given forms to fill up after they have presented their valid ids, my youngest daughter who's already 19 was also asked to present her psa copy of her birth certificate while my other daughter was asked to present two valid ids. After filling up the forms they waited for their turn to do the biometrics thing but unfortunately two computers had their systems down and it took them more than two hours to get them fixed, it's a good thing they had the system up that same day, if not they have to go back again the next day to continue with the registration. So my daughters finished with their registration at about 2 pm. That was the time that they had their lunch.

I was not able to join them that day because I have no valid to present yet. They said that I need to get a nso/psa copy of my birth certificate and a barangay id because I only have an old photocopy of my birth certificate and my barangay id is already expired and my birth year on my TIN id is not correct so I can't use that.

That was the scenario last year, November 2021.

Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty

Now, last week, I accompanied my Mom and my youngest son to a nearby mall to get them registered for their national id. By this time there are only a few people who goes to the registration site, no more waiting in long lines. You just have to go straight to the one incharge giving out the forms and present them your valid id and then you can already go inside for biometrics after filling up the form. My Mom presented her UMID card and for my son, I presented his school id and his birth certificate. So while they are waiting for their turn to go inside, there are two persons who were there beforw is, I asked the one who gives out the forms if I could use my birth certificate's photocopy, she said no but I could use my barangay id as long as it has my full name, my birthday and my complete address. That alone is acceptable as a valid id.

So yesterday, I went to a photo study to get my id pictures. Then I go straight to our barangay hall and presented my biodata, 2x2 id picture and our electricity bill as a proof that I am a resident of that barangay. It only took me less than an hour only to get my barangay id. And had it laminated before I went home.

And this morning, along with my Mom, we went back to the registration site. Presented my barangay id, filled out the form and went inside for the biometrics. The young man behind the desk confirms the information before encoding the data on the computer. Then he asked me to do the iris scan, after that I have place my two thumbs on the scanner, then my four right fingers and then the same with the left but I did it 3 times before he finally said it was okay. And lastly he asked me to look into the camera, he noticed that I was smiling slightly ( can't help smiling when there's a camera infront of me hahaha ) also he asked to brush my bangs to the side so my face will be clearly captured by the camera, which I had a hard time doing because my bangs won't cooperate, it keeps on falling back to its place. Finally, after what it feels like eternity of battling with my hair, he had my photo taken. And I'm not happy with how I look in my photo LOL Seems like I'm looking at another person. After reviewing my data on the computer and confirming it, I was given a piece of paper, a proof that I was already registered and I have to present that paper to the one who's going to deliver it.

All in all, I'm happy that I am now done with this national id issue hehe I just have to wait for months before I get my hands on this id. And of course, before going home we had a croissant and iced coffee in Dunkin Donut. And bought some burgers from Burger King for the kids and me also hahaha

It's a good thing I didn't go with my daughters last year, I didn't have to wait in line for long hours.

Editor's note:

Lead image from Google

1
$ 0.27
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

Comments