Finding a Job

6 12
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago
Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty

Let me share with you my experiences in finding my very first job. I've got to have one because my late husband left us without a single cent. He just vanished, didn't come home one day, didn't even bothered to pack his clothes.

Asking for friends' help to land me a job

That was the first thing that came to my mind. I ask around if they know where I could apply for work, even if it's not in my line of interest or educational background.

One friend, who's a realty consultant asked me if I want to give it a try with their company. I said yes, we went on field, giving out fliers to prospective buyers, assigned to different malls to assist enquiries, gone on location trippings.

But after 2 months, I quit. There is no money there unless you get to a sure buyer, and made a downpayment and signed a contract. I can't support my kids with that kind of work.

Trying my luck in the BPO world

Yes, my very first venture into the bpo world started when my brother-in-law's sister referred me where she works. Having no idea of what awaits me there, no idea on how the process of application goes, I failed πŸ˜…

Doing some research on how to pass an interview with that kind of company, I start practising my English, my diction and my confidence in conversing with the interviewer.

Having done that, I have my resume printed, several copies, a lot of copies hahaha just to be sure. So I applied in one of the most well known company in the bpo world, passed the inital interview, passed the computer literacy exam, passed the call sim with the om but failed the final interview. It was done through a phonecall, and I really had a hard time hearing what was asked, there was something wrong with the line.

Second attempt

Getting a little bit confident because I already have an experience in applying, I am somehow more familiar with the process.

The second attempt is a success. I passed everything, from the initial interview up to the final interview. Proceeded to the training and the actual calling ( by the way, it's a drivethrough type of ordering ) we punch what the clients order then forward them to the store's kitchen in Hawaii. It was fun, had a few funny moments while getting orders, had a few Pinoys who would suddenly speak Tagalog while ordering, that's how they know we are Pinoys too.

But, I got sick, didn't get to work for 2 days. When I got back, they said I have to get a medical certificate first before I can go back to work. I have no money yet at that time so I can't go to a doctor to have a check up and get a med cert. So in short, I was not allowed to go back, but they still gave me my month's salary.

3rd and final attempt

And the 3rd and last application is with a local bpo company. December, I passed the initial interview, the typing speed test and the final interview. January, I got into training, 2 weeks of classroom training, shadowing and lectures and an interview with the employers. 2nd week of January, I received a call that I could start working on the 16th. Together with my co-trainees, we were introduced to all the other employees, we were surprised when the bosses said that we have to sing after introducing ourselves. we really didn't expect that, I sang "Love Story" by Taylor Swift, so nervous at that time whew hahaha

Six years went by, and I have to resign because of some personal reasons. My bosses persuaded me not to leave them, but sadly, i have to. I thanked them for giving me the chance to work with them, happy that i have met lots of people while working. gained friends that up until today are still my friends.

And that is how I had a job that I really loved and enjoyed.

4
$ 0.20
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

Comments

I am sorry to hear about your husband po :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's ok po, much better na po kami ngayon ng mga kids ko. sabi nga, life must go on 😊 i have to be much stronger for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gushhh kahit pala sa trabaho may talent portion akala ko sa scholarship lang. Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit naman kaming mga bagong na-surprise din....hindi kasi kami na-orient na may talent kinemerut palaπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woah lots of struggles, what happened to your husband madam? Is he dead? I am amazed how you manage to find jobs to sustain the needs of your children. I gave you a salute madam. What you do for a living right now madam?❀❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

he's dead now for 3 years, that's why i have already forgiven him for leaving us for another woman. I don't have a job now, i just do online encoding, saving what i earn from there. we live with my mother, and she supports us while my eldest kids search for other work, they lost their job during this pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago