A Little Bit of Reminiscing

2 24
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago
Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty

Eight days before Valentine's day. Does everybody already has plans for this special day, either with a special someone or with the family? And as always, during this season I am remided of a person who has been a special part of my life.

Well, it's not only on the 14th of February we can celebrate Valentine's day. We can make it everyday or whenever we want. This is what someone special once told me before. And yup, he was right. Everytime we were together, it always seems Valentine's day for us.

We met through a common friend ( well, not really a friend of mine...much more of somone I know because he lives not very far from my grandma's house), way back on our highschool days. We're both on our 3rd year, I was on the higher section and he was on the lower section. My neighbor said his friend saw me pass by while they were together and insisted the he introduce him to me.

So one day, as I was about to enter our school's gate, I heard my name called out loudly making the other students stop and turn and look around trying to find out who was being called in such a loud voice. So embarassing hahaha well anyways.....introductions were made. And he started courting me, after 3 months we became a couple. But it was a short-lived relationship, with me discovering that he's cheating on me, with some hints from his friends. The last day that we had a short talk was on our graduation day....and that was also the last day that we saw each other.

Another shot at love or shall I say "love is sweeter the second time around.

Days, weeks, months and years passed by....I got married to man I thought I loved which didn't go quite well which ended to us parting our ways and finally leaving me a widow....but that was another story which I will also share with you in the future.

So a year after my husband died, Dennis (not his real name) started chatting with me and dropping hints about us being together again. We're friends on facebook so I also know what's going on in his life too like he does with mine. He and his wife has been separated for more than 2 years already.

To make the story short, we decided to give our love another chance. We agreed to go out on a date on my birthday. First time to see each other again after 30 years. And yes, my heart skipped a beat and then started beating faster as I saw him waiting for me. And I know he felt that way too. I saw it in his eyes, the way he stared at me as I approach him and him whispering "you still look beautiful."

It felt like my heart will explode with happiness while we were walking holding hands while looking for a nice place to eat lunch. After our lunch, we went to see a movie, but we just did some more catching up with what happened to our lives, our what ifs. And before going home, he bought me a cake to bring home to the kids and celebrate my birthday.

Since then, we go out every week. Eating out or watching a movie. With him giving me small kisses or hugging me even with other people around, like when we are waiting for our orders or while waiting in line in the cinema, or even while on the escalator hahaha he's really such a sweet man. I can't take off the smile on my lips all the time that we're together. And that he noticed and asked me why I always have that smile. I answered him...."my lips do that automatically when I'm with you because that's my heart's way of showing that she's happy."

Not all good things last....a sad truth.

Unfortunately, everything has to end, slowly. There came a time that he didn't come to see me. He just called me up and said he has something important to do. And after 2 weeks of stalling he finally confessed that he lost his job but he's gonna apply for a new one. He said that I should wait for him and I said of course I would. At first he still call me everyday just like he used to do. And then it became days before he would call again, then weeks, until he stopped calling. I wasn't surprised that that happened, I think I've been expecting it the whole time after loosing his job.

But every now and then he still drops me a message. Christmas and new year greetings. He also sent me a birthday greetings through messenger. We get to chat for awhile, and that's when I learned that he is sick. He's got tuberculosis and he's on his 4th month of medication which will end on March. He said his kids are taking care of him, he also said that he got thinner because of this. And he need to get some fattening up to get back to his old built. And he still calls me with our usual endearment. Still made my heart flutter ☺️🥰

Well, anyway.....I hope and pray that he would get better and be completely cured. After all, I loved him with all my heart and I still carry with me all the sweet and happy moments we've shared together. I can't remember having any dull time with him.

2
$ 0.97
$ 0.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

Comments

That's so saddening to know sis. Sana maging okay na sya at maginh better na pakiramdam niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you sis. Sa March na mag-end yung medication niya. Sana tuluy tuloy na paggaling nya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago