Patriotism

2 43
Avatar for SilverBack
2 years ago

PATRIOTISM - I never had it in mind to write about this, i had something else in mind to come present to you guys, my fellow read.cash users but on heading home from work yesterday, I caught across a beautiful and warming scenery of a citizen of my country at a blocked road that led to a standstill traffic. Although, it is not a so rare sight that I haven't seen it before but my eyes were opened and my mind lit on fire and blown away that I was enlightened and inspired enough to want to write about it. What did I come across would be the lingering question in our respective minds right now ~lol~ sorry for the suspense and I didn't mean it to be intentional.

Yesterday night,as I was heading home from my place of work, immediately I stepped out of the company premises, I saw the back log of a standstill traffic stretching out as long as 5km in metric distance if I am not to exaggerate - How long is 5km you say? Well, using transportation by foot and considering we walk on foot with different paces, a 5km long road would take an average of one hour ( 60 minutes ) to navigate - tough luck hehe.

It seems I am deviating much from my main topic but all these scenarios and add-ons are really necessary to the birth of this little write up on PATRIOTISM of mine; well, that would be about that on the status of the traffic and from my workplace I was laddened with a burden mentally that I had to walk home as no public transport is even free to roam or commute any passenger due to the standstill (judging from this article of mine, you should know trekking isn't an hassle for me ~lol~ ).

And so it was, I trekked to the root of the problem which was the intersection round-about at the start of the 5km road and shockingly, a minor accident had earlier happened there that claimed no lives and inflicted minor injuries to the victims as I heard from passers-by and it was the chief cause of the standstill traffic and in the midst of it all, I saw a young man, no older than being in his late twenties wearing a three piece blue tuxedo suit with his sleeves rolled up directing and navigating vehicles in order to ease the traffic and create a commutable road for transportation.

Judging from the look of things, he had parked his car and left the comfort of his fully fitted Benz S-class Air Conditioning to do something in the midst of a crisis for the betterment of his country.

Going back to Patriotism, it can be defined as simply the act of being a Patriot and what/who would a Patriot be? According to a dictionary with reference to this DEFINITION OF A PATRIOT LINK ;

- "A Patriot is someone who loves and zealously support and defends their  country - A Patriot is a true friend of the country".

Doing things for our country not just for high service or for hypocrisy or for good remarks and feedbacks from society or community but from out of good will and a genuine love for our country really separates the wheat from the shaft amongst citizens of a country. We as a citizen of a/our country are indebted and entitled to the growth and prosperity of the nation, we must do things regardless of what people say or how they feel. Our actions should never be influenced by the situation of the economy or the state of leadership. In all circumstances, every thing we must do and will be doing should be in the good interest of the nation.

With reference to what I experienced yesterday night, the young man acting as a traffic and road Enforcer felt the need and urge to be useful and left his comfort zone in order to be beneficial to others as his act of patriotism really paved a way quite literally for other drivers as his contribution paid off, the traffic eased a bit and the road was finally free of standstill and back logs.

It was simple and short, my point made on patriotism, but it was quite extensive and had a lot of insights. We should be the internal driving force of our nation and support it in what ever we can by being a good citizen and a Patriot.

Good morning to you all, thanks for reading and for your time, Do Have A Nice Day Ahead.

7
$ 2.16
$ 2.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @MD_Tibro
Sponsors of SilverBack
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SilverBack
2 years ago

Comments

It is really important for every citizen of a country to be patriotic, no matter the country because the development of a country starts from individual citizens

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. I hope we see more Patriot citizen especially in things pertaining to money and infrastructural development in Nigeria.

$ 0.00
2 years ago