The 24th of July Earthquake

3 15
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

It was my Friday shift. The favorite day of us employees because its the last day of work. Tomorrow will be Saturdays and Sundays, my restdays. The best thing is that, it was my payday. Payday gives us the energy to work. Who doesn't love paydays? We deserve to earn and that is the reason why we work.

That day, I was very focused because I need to finish my deadlines. I am kinda sleepy but trying to be focused because time flies too fast if you are busy. You will not noticed that it's almost breaktime or about to time out.

The Earthquake

Until it was 4am. My last breaktime. I was really sleepy so I was just resting my eyes while seated in front of the computer until I slept in that position. I think I slept 20-30 mins then I continue working again. Until it was around 4:55 am. I thought I was just dizzy. I felt like someone was pushing me.

But it was an earthquake. It was too scary because it was a strong one. I was looking at the appliances and all that were attached in the ceiling like the rotating fan and the lights. It took 1-2 minutes and it was long enough. A strong and long eartquake was really scary. Until it stopped.

My father woke up because of it. My son also wokes up. I am not sure if he woke up because of the movement or just because he woke up. My son was smiling at me and didn't know what happened. It's better to smile than waking up crying because of trauma. Even it stopped, I still felt dizzy. My brothers and niece and nephew were sleeping soundly when it happened. They just found out when they woke up.

Since I'm at work during that time,.our group chat which was silent before became active with group chats about earthquake. EvenbI had timed out from work, I cannot focused because I was still in shock.

Some said that there were aftershocks but I only felt it once but it was long. What makes it scary was the typhoon. It was raining so hard so thinking that there was an earthquake and typhoon, you have every reason to be afraid of.

I remember someone told me to check if there is an eartquake. Just put water in the glass then put it in the table and if there is an earthquake, it will move depending on its strength.

I was so scared because a lot of things reminds me when it happened. My mother wasn't there. I have no one ro talk to that I was so scared. What will I do if its stronger? I was holding my child and observing around the house if something might fall.

All I remember was that I was praying when it happened. Praying for it to stop and it did.

The Elementary Days

I remember when I experienced one of the strongest earthquake when I was in elementary. It was 1990 and it was too strong and we all panicked. We were inside the classroom when it happened and I ran without noticing that my footmat is still on and it just rained so it was wet while we ran.

We went to the playground which is an open place and we all pray. Good thing is that no one was hurt and we were all safe. But there were other places that were greatly affected and many died. It was one of the worse earthquake that I experienced ever and I hope it won't again.

Safety Measures During Earthquake

Do Not Panic. Sometimes its hard not to panic when the earthquake is there but it is the first thing that we should all put in mind.

Go to open places. If you are inside the house or inside the building, do not use the elevator. Once you are outside the building, go to open area as much as possible.

If you were trapped. Just hide inside the table where you can hide.

Drop. Cover. Hold.

Drop down using your knees and hands.

Cover your head and neck.

Hold on to where you are until the earthquake stops.

My Final Say

We don't know when an earthquake or other tragedies will happen. Only God knows when and where it will happen. It just so happened that July 24 was the day when we had earthquake, when there was typhoon and there is still the virus.

All we need to do is to be ready at all times. Do not forget to pray and pray.

Thank you for reading another article of mine. I want to thank my sponsors CryptoMax, immaryandmerry and Bjorn. Thank you for believing in me.

Have a nice day to all and happy reading!!

1
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Shyness
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Comments

Naku buti at walang nasaktan sa inyo sis. May traumatic experience din ako pagdating sa lindol. Kaya kahit konting yanig natatakot na ako. Last week, lumindol din dito sa amin. Madaling araw pa yun. Nagising ako bigla dahil sa pagyanig. Sa pagkakaalam ko, may malaking fault line daw dito malapit sa barangay namin. Kaya nag-iisip na ako kung saan tatakbo pag lumindol ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo iba tlaga pag lindol. Wala kang kawala.. Prayers lang magagawa mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis. Kaya ingat kayo dyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago