Pain from the Past

2 23
Avatar for Shyness
3 years ago

They say that everything happens for a reason. It may be good. It may be bad but life goes on no matter what happens. Someone will come and someone will go but life must continue. So let us treasure every moment with the ones we love and always thank God for the life we have.

It happened almost 10 years ago but the memories of her is still in our hearts. I wrote this article not to have pity on me but rather to share the experience that we have. For I know most of us can relate. The pain of losing a loved one..my sister.

Our Family

We are 7 in the family including my parents. I am the 2nd to the youngest and my 3 siblings are all married now. It is just me, my son and my younger brother who are living with my parents here in Cavite, Philippines.

Even before that my sister was still single, she was apart from us because of her work. She just visited us during her rest days until she got married and have her own family. My other siblings who were married are just living nearby.

I can say that my family is not that rich nor that poor at that time. My father used to work abroad with good salary. I have a job while my brother was studying. Everything was doing fine until the accident happened. My sister was bumped by a motorcycle and her head was hit hard while crossing the street. She was sent to the hospital and was in comatose. She went under operation and after a month, she was sent home but still in coma. In able to be taken care of, she was sent home to Cavite since her husband was working and her 2 kids were too young at that time. My mother was the one taking care of her everyday in the hospital travelling from Cavite to Laguna so it would be better to sent her home to us.

Trials

It was painful everytime we saw my sister in her condition..lying unconscious, can't smile...can't talk..can't say how she feels. But nothing's more painful was seeing my mother everyday in that scenario. She needs to wake up every 4 or 6 hrs to feed my sister through tube feeding..changing her diapers..changing her clothes..worrying and praying for her to recover.

We knew that there was no assurance on when my sister will woke up. Prayer was our only strong weapon. We talked to her everyday even she doesn't respond but I know she hears us. Her children and her husband missed her a lot. She has a 4 year old girl and a 1 year old baby boy at that time. Her in-laws were the ones taking care of her children while my sister was with us.

We missed her a lot. She is a cheerful, friendly, active and a hardworking person. I still remember when we first saw her in the hospital, we cried so much not knowing how fatal her condition was. It was exhausting to see her with all the machines attached to her body. My sister was very young to suffer and she has a lot of dreams for her family. I used to live with them for awhile when I worked in Laguna but went back to Cavite to work again so I knew how happy they were and how good-hearted my sister was.

Her Fight

The accident happened when my sister worked in a new company after a retrenchment from her previous employer. There she met an accident very early morning. It seemed that the world stopped when it happened. An accident caused by peoples negligence and carelessness in the road. A filed was case but nothing happened.

After 5 months of fighting, we lost her. A lot of people helped us financially, emotionally and spiritually. Families, neighbors and friends helped. She may be gone but she is always in our hearts. She will always be my "sister" in heaven with God guiding us and her family. Reminiscing the past still hurts though we knew she is already safe now, free from pain and happy with our God Almighty. It was a challenge to all of us but made us stronger despite the tragedies in life.

Losing a loved one is one of the hardest part in life. But we need to move on.

Live life to the fullest and enjoy every moment with our loved ones. Life is short so we must spend it wisely.

4
$ 1.53
$ 1.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.01 from @jaksonhium
+ 1
Sponsors of Shyness
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shyness
3 years ago

Comments

I'm sorry for your loss. That was really tough. I'm glad that you were able to move on. I'm sad about her kids though. They were too young for that. I can relate myself to their position since I was just 7 when my dad passed away. Anyway, all things happen for a reason. It always comes with a purpose. It will just take time until we found those purpose.

Thank you for sharing this story. It must have been painful but i'm glad you were able to pass that stage of your life. God bless always Ate Shy. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes we have moved on and it was a tough fight for her and to us. thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago