These days won’t last forever!

0 16
Avatar for Shovelheaddad
1 year ago

Days like this won’t last forever. Or even very long for that matter. I bet you think I am talking about the downturn in the market and fat red candles. Nope! Well,ok I am but merely in a relatable way to what I am actually talking about. Kids! Not just any kids, but obviously my kids. And I don’t mean the “Dad go away!!! Please!!” teenage punk kids. No, mine haven’t evolved into those spiteful creatures yet. I am talking about a Fortnite playing, full of scrapes and bruises, still mispronouncing words 7 year old and an almost 2 year old who’s just starting to learn how to mispronounce words. No, one day all of the hugs and cuddles will be gone and in their place will be burnouts on the street, foul mouthed, out all night hellions. But for now, I savor all these moments and the never ending barrage of questions. And they are one of the reasons I am in the crypto space. Because one day after I am gone, all they will be left with are my Harleys(one for each of em), my wisdom and lingering lessons on what it means to be a man in the world, and their crypto portfolios. 
 
    My boys are literally perfect in the sense that they are how you would expect happy,healthy boys to be. And the first 5 years there were no worries. Then came news of another boy. However, with this one came bad news. Doctors told us there was a good probability that Elijah would have physical problems. One of his femurs was in the 1 percentile for size in a fetus. They worried us for 3 months and unfortunately we could not get any answers until he was born. To make matters worse, he was turned too far around for his mom to have an aversion and he would have to be delivered C section. We were devastated. After having a perfect son,how could this happen? Surely this was karma for all the hateful,cruddy violent shit I had done in my life, and now it was coming back to fuck us up. 

  Elijah Michael was born on March 30th of 2020 right at the beginning of the Covid pandemic. The perfect worse case scenario was building up, yet there was a slight ray of light. As his mom got prepped for C section delivery,they took the standard x-ray. Somehow miraculously, he had turned himself all the way around and was able to be born vaginally. The moment arrived,and as I did with Christian Michael, I helped deliver him from the womb. This was the moment of truth. And the truth was, this child was perfect. I’m not an emotional guy. Honestly I’m pretty gruff and a little scary looking lol. I cried when I was told he may have physical issues and I cried right there in the delivery room, in front of everybody, when he was born so perfect. There was not a single issue. That day will never be forgotten for a variety of reasons. I don’t think I might ever feel that level of joy and relief ever again. 

  And that’s why I started investing. I thought I was doing good with a kids club CD at the local credit union that paid 2.25% APR. What a joke! Eventually I stumbled into crypto after awhile. Like everyone I heard the bites on the news but I had no clue. As I learned a little more about it, I knew I had to do this for my kids. After all, children are a man’s true legacy. Every paycheck, I set aside $120. I have a separate wallet for each boy, and I buy $30 of BTC and $30 of ETh. Since I’m paid biweekly, that’s $120/month for each one. Not much, but it’s a shot at a better life for them! One much better than mine was. 

    So days like the past few, they don’t bother me much. I have nothing less than absolute faith and confidence that this will pay off for them in the long run, and this allows the limited capital I have to go farther. Once they turn 18, I will hand over the seed phrase to them and they can decide what they want to do. I only hope that I have done my job and instilled in them the wisdom to make a good choice. Only time will tell if I did my job as a Dad. Mine was a drunk and never around, so I feel that at least I haven’t failed them in that aspect. Hopefully, my legacy will be that of honor, wisdom, and respect. 

     I know I said I bought more today and the past few days, but none of this should be considered financial advice. I’m just an old,broken down scooter trash and a working shmuck like most of you. 
 
   If you enjoyed this article, feel free to tip at the bottom and follow. I write about everything from crypto, to price action, and personal experiences. This is actually my very first week of writing and it turns out I quite enjoy it. Below are a couple referral links 

Join Celsius Network using my referral code 113068c979 when signing up and earn $50 in BTC with your first transfer of $400 or more! #UnbankYourself 

https://celsiusnetwork.app.link/113068c979

Sign up for Coinbase using my link and we can each get $10 in Bitcoin https://www.coinbase.com/join/dodd_4za?src=ios-link

Join Hodlnaut using my referral code qjrOLxGN9 and earn 30 USDC* T&Cs apply.

https://hodlnaut.com/join/qjrOLxGN9

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Shovelheaddad
1 year ago

Comments