GDF11 as a Cancer Treatment?

2 78
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

Molly’s Story

I first noticed something was off with Molly, my little dog, just before Easter. Her side felt a little hard, just below her rib cage. She had some runny stools, but there wasn’t any blood in them. Her appetite wavered between normal and a refusal to eat anything other than her dog treats.

She also began to lose weight, which I attributed to her lack of eating. I waited a week and a half for my third stimulus check to come in and called the vet. The result: they weren’t seeing patients like her because she may have to stay overnight. Their reason was the pandemic. Social distancing in Minnesota was still strict, and they just didn’t have the manpower to take care of her right then.

About two and a half months went by and she continued to lose weight until she was nearly skin and bones. As she lost tremendous amounts of weight, her abdomen began to balloon. So much for my inflammatory bowel disease theory.

At that time, the vet was finally able to see her. She immediately took an x-ray, revealing a very large splenic mass – about the size of a cantaloupe. Splenic masses are usually cancerous, specifically, a very aggressive cancer called hemangiosarcoma, so I immediately began my search for new or alternative treatments.

I came upon a website promoting a peptide called GDF11 as the closest thing to a cure for this cancer as you can get. I’m familiar with the guy behind the website, as he’s well-known in the anti-aging and immortality circles, and got in touch.

Meanwhile, Molly had an ultrasound and palliative care or euthanasia were the recommended courses of action.

Um, no!

I fought to find a surgeon who would operate for another week. Particularly, a surgeon who wouldn’t immediately euthanize upon finding additional tumors, benign or otherwise. I explained the treatment I wanted to try, but seeing as how they hadn’t heard of it, they refused to comply with my wishes.

In the end, I wound up driving her to a surgeon two hours away. It was an emergency vet, so the cost of the surgery was astronomical!

On the plus side, the surgeon didn’t see any sign of metastasis, so that was good.

Two days after bringing her home, I began her treatment with GDF11.

What is GDF11?

GDF11 is an endogenous signaling molecule, which means that it’s natural to your body. Its main function is stem cell DNA repair, making the fact that it diminishes with age one of the prime suspects of aging. Steve Perry, CEO of GDF11 Rejuvenation, originally began experimenting with it to see if aging could be reversed.

While a lack of GDF11 isn’t a primary cause of aging, it’s definitely a component. I, personally, would like to experiment with it in conjunction with epitalon, which lengthens telomeres, but that’s for a different article entirely.

Anyway, adding exogenous GDF11 can repair enough senescent cells (or cells that are barely functioning, can no longer divide, and are mostly just getting in the way) to take 5-10 years off of your biological age.

What does any of these have to do with cancer?

Part of GDF11’s cell repair includes binding to any cells with stem qualities, and virtually all cancers have that. When it binds to cancerous cells and tumors, it disables their mitochondrial function. This prevents the cells from reproducing and proliferating, even killing them!

No human has ever attempted it yet, but given the success that's being seen with dogs, I'd be sorely tempted to start injecting myself if I ever came down with cancer.

How Successful is It?

So far, these guys are the only ones I know of who are treating cancer in dogs this way. In private conversation, they boast a 98% cure rate, provided that the cancer is so widespread that it multiplies before the molecule can bind to it.

This is why I’m giving it to my dog. She hates needles, and it’s a real chore to do it, but it will ultimately save her life. Her appetite is amazing on it, and so is her energy!

How Can I Help?

Glad you asked! Just kidding; you probably didn’t ask.

Anyway, if you would like to help, go here (https://gofund.me/5146f42a). My family set up a donation page for her. I hope to spread the word as we continue with treatment so we can actually cure this wretched disease and turn the established pessimism in treating it into unbridled optimism.

Helping us doesn't just help my dog - it helps all of us. By gathering the data and sharing it with professionals who have more influence than I do, we can help dogs (and eventually people, hopefully) to beat one of the most dreaded diagnoses that currently exists.

2
$ 0.55
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Shounenbat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

Comments

Please keep us updated about your results with your dog. I have a professional interest in this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I intend to. So far she's doing very well, even on a large dose. She's not a huge fan of the needle, but her energy and appetite are way up again. We'll be using an Emfit to monitor her as well, so that data will be helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago