Extreme Introversion and a Pandemic

0 23
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

When the coronavirus began ravaging a little place in China that I’d never heard of, Wuhan, I knew it was only a matter of time before it hit the United States of America. It slowly spread throughout the world like a winning game of Pandemic, and at last, the news hit that this new virus had come to America. I knew at that time that it wouldn’t be long before it hit Minnesota, too.

It crept into the cities first, by means of passengers from a cruise ship. At first, it seemed as though most Minnesotans were responsible and were quarantining themselves, but sure enough, it soon began to spread. People began fleeing the cities and coming up to my rural neck of the woods, feeling that they could wait out the pandemic in their cabins. Governor Walz asked them to stop, as it put all of our counties at risk, but they continued to come.

As such, it wasn’t long before the entire state was issued shelter-at-home orders. Schools closed, restaurants shuttered their windows, and even most churches were holding online services or directing members to places where they could stream other services. Walking through my little town felt like wandering through the set of a post-apocalyptic movie!

That’s when I noticed something strange: I was just about the only person happy about this arrangement. I wasn’t happy about the death spreading globally, of course, but having everything shut down wasn’t that bad.

While other people didn’t know what to do with themselves with no bars to go to, friends to hang out with, or family trips, I was enjoying more time for reading, language learning, and video games. I also had a cousin excited about this new reality, declaring that she was, “Born for this!”

As the months wore on, the weirdest thing was that I was starting to see articles pop up written by people who claimed that at this point even introverts like themselves were sick of staying at home. “Really?” I thought. I certainly wasn’t sick of staying at home. I was highly enjoying it!

It prompted me to ask this question to my readers: how did you cope with lockdowns and orders to social distance? Were you like me or were you itching to get out and do things again?

Before You Answer

Please take the time to check out my family’s fundraising page. I mentioned in my last article that I had a sick dog, and we decided to ask for some help from the online community. If you can’t help, please share. Thanks.

Now You Can Answer!

1
$ 0.65
$ 0.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Shounenbat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

Comments