It might sometimes be very tough to accept defeat

1 30
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago

We should never be troubled about the little failures we encounter in the journey of life. One of the things that leads an individual to success in life is failures, understand me right please. From the mistakes made, we get to know the right thing to do and the wrong things we should never try. We learn from it, the correct path to be followed in order to be successful on every side. Accepting defeat can be tough at times, but the beautiful side of it is that the more we accept it, the more broaden our minds become from the lessons learned. Mistakes will always happen, that means we get the opportunity to learn every time.

Since I was going to be free the whole and not to waste it just like that doing nothing productive. I decided to attend a success workshop which was scheduled for today. It was so awesome that I don't regret attending it. The facilitator was an expert when it comes to success talks, he was so good. Before he started, he asked for permission to share his story with us. He said this could be my story, but likewise someone else in this room might be writing the same storyline.

I was doing so bad while in the university, my parents forced me to take up the course I never wanted. In my first year, my result was so poor, but my parents never stop having the expectations that I will eventually do well in exams. The hope the had in me was increasing every day, on the other hand I was dieing silently. They were unaware of what I was going through because of their own selfish interest. I had a hard time concentrating on my studies. This fear of how my parents will feel if I don't meet up with their expectations catches each time I close my eyes to sleep. My parents wanted me to become a pilot, they fail to know that not everyone was destined to be a medical doctor, pilot, or an engineer. It wasn't my destiny to be a pilot.

Days passed by, I started developing fear of failing as a student. I could remember very well how my mind was always filled with thoughts about failures. In the process of helping myself in the situation I was in, I decided to meet with the school counselor for some advice.

I finally meet with Mrs. Veronica who was the school counselor. We talked about a lot of things, and I was feeling okay already. I was about leaving her office when she said something that really touched me. She said, "it is very okay if I am not good in everything, it is okay if I am not doing well in my exams." I went back to my hostel, sat on my bed still thinking of what she really meant by what she said. A calm voice whispered to me that I was taking a lot of pressure on my nerves. That was when I finally understood what Mrs. Veronica was talking about.

I decided that I will talk to my parents during the holiday period that they should cut down on some of the things they are expecting from me academically and otherwise. I only had one problem when I finally visited home, the boldness to say what's on my mind in their presence. After some weeks, I finally summon the courage and poured out my mind to them. After doing that, it felt as if I was released from a cage.

After that day, my parents gave me all the support I needed. I wrote another exams and I got admitted into a different university to study my choice of course. Before I left for my new school, I repeated the lines of words Mrs. Veronica said to me to them but in my own way. I told the, "it's okay if I don't have knowledge of everything, but the one I know and passionate about I should know it to the very last.

I stand here to tell you all with all amount of sincerity that I have found peace within right from that I dealt with the fear of failures. I am successful in my field. After the night there is always a brighter morning.

Our life is what we make of it. If all we do is allow people to decide things for us, we have no reason to complain about the outcome of it. We should learn how to have a voice when it has everything to do with our life.

I went back home with great lessons from the story our facilitator shared. It is always okay to experience failures in the journey of life. But a day will surely come when we will spring up again and say a big NO to failures and succeed. It might sometimes be very tough to accept defeat but we need to have confident in ourselves so we can deal with every failures we have encountered the right way.

Remember, our life is what we make of it. Enjoy your journey.

All images are from unsplash 

3
$ 0.67
$ 0.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Shivaz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It's really better if we are the ones who choose our course.. Because in the end we are the one will suffer.. We suffer because we are not good in that path. Then this is our life so we decide what we want.. Also we are the one who will study not our parents..

$ 0.00
1 year ago