My Unexpected Tutor Session

3 42
Avatar for Shinhye.14
2 years ago

The last article I wrote was about education Amid covid-19. Now, just yesterday I was surprised to having a visitor at home.

I was just at my room, reading and commenting articles here on read.cash. An unordinary day for me, since it was my rest day. After I woke up I have had my coffee and "Suman". Thereafter, I do lots of household chores: I cleaned the house, folded the washed clothes and washed the dishes while I was also paying attention to the food we vend.

At 9am, the food we vend have been sold out already. So I take a little rest at my room. A few minutes later I heared someone calling my name outside the house. "Ate Jejel? Are you there?, so I opened the window and saw my second cousin. He's a 11 yr old boy and a grade 6 student.

He came to the house to ask me to tutor him about his lesson in math. So I said no problem.

I was free so why not making my time productive, right? I was able to help and also refresh my brain. I always think of the students especially in the primary level students, the hardship they may have to experience due to this modular or online classes.

I have a second cousin too who live with us now, he's a grade 7 students. I always encourage him to keep on reading the module and If is there's a topic that he couldn't understand or a confusing topic for him, I'm always there. For as long s I'm free, I will him help him understand or I'll let him use my pc to do some research but he never did. So, something in my mind will say let them approach you coz if you'll be the one to come to them still they won't learn since theres no courage within them to learn.

Anyways, let's not talk about it. Lets go back to my grade 6 cousin student.

After I demonstrate to him the step by step process of solving the problem, I let him answer atleast two problems to to evaluate if he had learned or what. Then I checked it afterwards.

Heres the topic he wants to Learn.

As it appears on the pictures, it's kinda more on problem solving integrated to the mixed and fractions topic in mathematics.

Before I started to teach him, I ask him first: what is fraction? What is proper fraction? What's is improper fraction? What is mixed number?

Non of those questions he seemed to understand. So what I did was, I introduced him those terms and i gave examples each and i let him give 5 examples too in each terms.

Afterwards, we tackled the xstep by step process. It's kinda complex topic for him. But gladly I was able to help him understand about it. It's good too sibce the problem is easy to understand and it's a real life kind of situation.

While he's answering some problems I gave him, I took a bath and feed our piggy. When I was done, I checked his answer. There are some process he seemed confused. So, I asked him on which part his confused. I explained to him the process again.

I wasnt feeling tired the whole time I spent time teaching him. By just seeing how determined he is to learn I was delighted. It makes so happy watching him trying to understand the process though I know it's hard for him. There are terms as well that he find hard to pronounce. It's very heartbreaking for me. Maybe if last year he experienced face to face classes it could have been easy for him to learn new topic.

Mathematics subject is complicated especially when the foundation is weak. Each topic in math is actually interconnected. It's hard to learn new topic when you don't know the previous one.

What would be the education after this pandemic? Teachers would have a hard time coping up with the topic that the students have missed during the pandemic.


Thats it for today. Thanks for reading. Leave your thoughts in the comment section about my topic below. I'm looking forward to reading your comments and respond to it as soon as I can.

Happy Sunday everyone😊


Pictures are originally mine.

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Color
Avatar for Shinhye.14
2 years ago

Comments

I’ve always disliked mathematics right from primary 😀. I’m happy that you want to help your cousins to learn. To be very honest, that’s so good of you. Just keep it up and God will bless you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many dislike mathematics as fas as I know but I love it. I'm actually a mathematics major😅 thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no question that everything in life will be according to the planning. Sometimes some unexpected things happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago