"Not only Teacher" but "A TEACHER OF CHARACTER"

7 32
Avatar for SherylRT
2 years ago

My journey of becoming a teacher started when I was in Grade VI in San Jose Central School. I had asked myself “What do I want to become in the future?”.

I had many options and I had imagined that I could become a doctor in a big hospital, an accountant in a world bank, a policewoman who protects her country, a nurse that helps the sick people, a businesswoman that owns successful business, and chef in a great and cozy restaurant, yet nothing captures my heart when I had imagined myself as a teacher who will inspire her future learners someday. Since that day, I am determined that I would choose teaching profession as my future career.

This picture was taken when I was in third year college and we are observing a Science Class for our Field Study.

When I was in college taking up Bachelor of Science of Secondary Education Major in Physical Science, I realized being a teacher is not EASY!

You are not only a teacher but you are also a ROLE MODEL! I cannot teach what I don't have and what I don't do.

Whatever circumstances I had encountered in college had made me believe in myself more in continuing my dream as teacher and thankfully, I had graduated my course and thesame year passed the Licensure Examination for Teachers. Surely, God has a plan!

This was my graduation picture. This day I had told myself that I will become a Licensed Teacher. And yes, it did happen.

These are my realizations

Being a teacher is a noble profession not a job.

Unlike a job which provides financial security or money, teaching as profession has given me a fulfillment in life. A fulfillment in my inner self which will make me proud for what I had done. It is a noble service in providing my students to be molded in school which will result to well-discipline individuals and talented people in the society. Therefore, I am determined to become a public servant in God’s perfect timing and will.

Teachers are character builders.

Since I was studying in college, I envisioned myself teaching not only training their minds and advancing their skills but also to shape and build their own good characters. I see myself as a role model of my students and therefore they see what I teach and do. A. P.J. Abdul Kalam, the 11th president of India quoted “Teacher is a very noble profession that shapes the character, caliber, and the future of an individual. If the people remember me as a good teacher that will be the biggest honor for me”. At the end of the day the learners will remember us teacher not of the knowledge we expound, the skills we used but the character we had in teaching them.

Teachers have great calling.

We are great teachers by calling and we are responsible to develop ourselves in order to teach and inspire our students for life. I am thankful and grateful I am a teacher.

Teachers need professional growth.

In becoming a fully developed person, professional growth is needed. A teacher that is expected to be globally competitive--an effective and efficient one. A teacher that knows her students and develop strategies how students can learn, plan and implement effective teaching-learning process, creates maintain supportive and safe learning environments, assess provide feedbacks and reports on students learning progress. One who is engaged in professional learning and supervise students learning. A teacher that acts as a professional at all times imbued with confidence, spiritual and moral values, high cognitive abilities, patience, devoted with love in care for her students. With these thoughts in mind, I am determined to continue pursuing my master’s degree.

I had dream of becoming a teacher and it did happen. Pursuing this profession is not only a want but it’s also need. Learning process is lifelong that means it should be continuous. My journey of becoming a teacher does not stop here.

Once a student who strives hard to become a teacher and now a teacher who also becomes a student of learning!

We are learning new knowledge and acquiring new skills. I am a teacher and I will be forever learning.

This was my first teaching in the real world. My first children. Forever be grateful with the memories and lessons.

To all aspirant teachers there, BELIEVE IN YOURSELF that you can do it and BELIEVE IN GOD of giving you your biggest dreams. YOU ARE CAPABLE!

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Abdullah143
Avatar for SherylRT
2 years ago

Comments

A teacher is the example for his students, he is a guide that helps others to follow their dreams. I am a music teacher and being a teacher I am a guide for my student to learn guitar or piano. I am the role model because I am the person who has studied a little more than they have. Many students have told me that they want to be good pianists in the future and my job is to give them all the necessary conditions to fulfill their dream. I have to teach them the basic and important things in a simple way and the best thing is that the student likes what he is learning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly you are a great teacher. I am happy to know your experience. Such a blessing to others to relate to and for students to love their teachers too. Continue being a blessing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you much success in your profession and in your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow MashahAllah. Teachers are the best without a teacher we are nothing. Teachers are the builder of a nation. All the progress of a nation is due to teachers as teach gave Doctors, scientists, engineers inshort everytype of students. We can't deny the importance of a teacher in our Society. Without out a teacher everything will destroy. I salute you Mam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dear brother for your appreciation to all teachers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed teacher is a voluntary work. Teachers work overtime without proper compensation and even consumed your personal life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. Thank you for your appreciation to all teachers brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago