Benzo-acetophenone prepared in last lab

2 27
Avatar for Shani59
1 year ago

I am tired of cramming syllabus lengthy and boring books my calories are burnt while cramming paragraphs after paragraph since the day I was born, Why the educational system is too weird. Sometimes I even cry where I am going on, let me tell you a fact, after studying for 16-years of education, my family's senior is advising me to do a job, I can't reply to them on the spot but the letter I questioned myself, I wasted my years just to be a servant and say again yes sir, okay sir.

I am losing interest gradually in this educational system, and focusing more on practical work, At the start of my bachelor's degree, I run after the CGPA, but this is useless just a piece of paper that can't decide my potential.

So last Tuesday we synthesized benzo-acetophenone using benzaldehyde, sodium hydroxide, methanol, and acetophenone. Acetophenone was not available in the last lab so we can't able to perform this experiment in the last lecture. The pandemic affected the lifestyle badly, and inflation is increasing continuously, that's why every institute facing a shortage of resources.

We are only two boys in a class of 22-students, our supervisor's advised us to collect apparatus for the experiment. My friend write down the apparatus needed for the experiment, that was, the stirrer, volumetric flask, beaker, pipette, funnel, magnet stirrer, and beat.

The beat wasn't available there in the lab, CR asked the Lab attendant to provide the magnetic beat. The Lab attendant took his university card and then give it. He said it is costly and after returning I will give you your university card. Class girls prepared 10% sodium hydroxide, we need only 20 ml of solution and they formed 100 ml, by taking 90ml water and 10ml of sodium chloride.

The reaction is exothermic as I felt later the walls of the beaker warmed during the mixing. To cool it prepared an ice bath and placed the beaker in it. The temperature needed for the experiment is below 15° and the room temperature was 42°. So we performed it at room temperature because we have a lecture after 1-hour. Added 15ml of methanol in the same volumetric flask with constant stirring. In last acetophenone was the last chemical we add to it before placing it on the stirrer for continuous heating and stirring, magnetic beat was placed in the sample solution.

Sample solution containing benzaldehyde, methanol, acetophenone, ,and sodium hydroxide

Placed the volumetric flask on the stirrer for 30-minutes, the endpoint of the experiment is light yellow, after filtering out the solution using a filter paper, last dry the crystal, weigh out the benzo-acetophenone obtained, and calculate the percentage yield.

@Shani59

13-05-2022

4
$ 1.44
$ 1.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
$ 0.04 from @Zainab-15
Sponsors of Shani59
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shani59
1 year ago

Comments

I think you are doing BS chemistry that is why you have posted about your experiment in lab

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes, I am a student of bs chemistry and this is my 2nd last semester! just 8 or 9 months remaining to complete my bachelor degree

$ 0.00
1 year ago