Your Tongue can be Sharp as a Knife - Body Shaming

8 43
Avatar for Sergee0213
2 years ago

Have you watched the superbowl halftime show wherein Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Mary J. Blige, Kendrick Lamar, 50Cent and Eminem performs one of their top rating songs? Bring back those sweet memories I think for those in my age, right?

A lot of good reaction was posted on the internet space about this great performance. But their is also some negative reactions and memes that came out after the show.

50cents got a lot of attention from netizens after showing upside down singing. Memes came popping out about his body, body-shaming him. I knew that he have a high confidence and no matter what people throw at him he won’t be bothered. But what if he doesn’t have confidence and have a low self-esteem? It would be a different story. So I wrote this article for today on raising awareness about body shaming.

Before I start, I would like to give my big thanks to all my friends and to the others users here at read.cash for welcoming me back. Also thanks for this little greeny robot, I miss this feeling every time your name came popping out of the notifications. Yiee. Now lets go back to the reason why I wrote this today.

Body shaming is one of the most serious problems of the youth in the 21st century today. Body shaming is the act of criticizing your own body and another person’s body in front of them or behind their back. People don’t realize that body shaming could strongly affect the well-being of an individual.

Body shaming can make people lose their confidence like they will feel a shame in front of the ground and they gradually lose confidence in themselves. Body shaming can also change people’s perspective of a perfect body. They will have the pressure to have an attractively slim, that they have to eat more or less to achieve it. Victims of body shaming can be eaten by depression especially when they feel that their body cannot meet the social criteria. The worst is that it can lead them to suicide.

Body shaming goes beyond the basic forms like fat shaming or skinny shaming. People could also be shamed for their heights or be criticized for not being beautiful. But no matter what form body shaming is unacceptable.

Joking about person’s body is not okay. Whether the statement are intentional or not. Also body shaming should never be a conversation starter like when you meet a friend after a long time, you should never say things like “Long time no see, you look like you gained weight or you look skinny you should eat more.” It is also not okay if you shame people’s body on their back.

Let me share something about my experience on body shaming. Way back when I was a high school students I used to be criticized for having a big nose. It was okay for me in the beginning but after a long time hearing those kinds of words, they make me feel tired and sick of them that I almost decided not to go to school anymore. See the impact of body shaming?

So the next time you think you have the right to express your own opinion about someone’s body, think twice before you say them because it doesn't affect their emotional and physical health but could also take away their life.

Now stand in front of the mirror, do you see any flaws on your body or do you see something you think that it looks beautiful?

I wonder why do we have to label each other by fat, skinny, tall, short or by comparative adjectives. By doing so, we are just allowing ourselves to believe that what we look like is actually more important than who we are as human beings. Therefore we need to stop body shaming ourselves in order to stop body shaming by other people.

Always remember that we are unique in our own ways. Love your own flaws and conquer your own fears.

Image used c/o unsplash

6
$ 0.50
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Angel_183
+ 1
Avatar for Sergee0213
2 years ago

Comments

Kaht ano pang itsura..pareho pareho naman tatanda at isa lng din pupuntahan natn sa katapusan 😅. Beauty fades over time..but kindness will be remembered forever...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whenever you tell something about someone, we should be careful especially when it comes to one's body.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already experienced it when there's a F2F classes. I'm skinny and they talking about me. I just heard it while they walking from the school and I'm behind them😥.

That time, I really sad and we didn't closed to each other because what I have heard. But now, I already forgot it and happy about my body🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing that you have accepted your own flaws. We can be better in our own way without thinking of others what they think about us

$ 0.02
2 years ago

See how powerful words are to destroy someone's life. 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. So we need to think twice or more before leaving a comment or saying something to another person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Body shaming is no difference in bullying. It must be stopped.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. It can be seen anywhere on the internet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago