How I ended up being a Nurse

17 51
Avatar for Sergee0213
2 years ago

March 9, 2022

A rainy afternoon everyone. I decided to declutter my things today so I can organize the things I needed to apply work for abroad. Transcript of records, related learning experience, curriculum vitae, birth certificate, passports, etc…

As I browse my papers I saw my grades on my first year as a nursing student and it made me think how did I became a nurse?

I’ve been a nurse now for almost 8 years. And I work as an Emergency room nurse on a tertiary hospital under the government. So how did I ended up being a nurse?

I grew up with my grandparents on my mother side. I’ve been an honor student on my elementary years and graduated as a salutatorian. After I graduated from elementary, I went to our hometown national high school. That is when I f**k up big time.

I became addicted to computer games (counter strike, ragnarok). This addiction made me not to attend classes, do homework and many more. My grades are failing and but still I’m not worried. To me what’s important is college. As long as I graduate high school I can start fresh again on college to reach my goals.

On my third year as a high school student, my addiction to computer became worst to the point that my parents were called by my adviser. She told my parents that I won’t be able to pass this school year if I don’t change. My parents were very disappointed at me that time asking me what happened to that honor student before. But still, I don’t give a care about it. I’ll just pass this school year and the coming year so I can finally go to college. So I changed my habit a little bit to be able to pass my third year that time. And I passed!

It was my summer vacation that time when I met a group of new friends that is studying on our nearby hometown. They look cool and easy to go with so I decided to transfer on the school they were attending. My parents as supportive as always agreed and maybe that I would change. And they are correct.

So I’m now attending a new school. New faces on an unfamiliar place. But it was alright because I can still get a chance to be with my new friends after school. This is when my parents thoughts that I will change if I change school became true. I’m now not addicted to online games but now I learned to drink and smoke. Nothing has changed at all on my goal. Just pass this year and college will be the start. I’ve managed again to pass and graduated. College year here I come.

I took up Bachelor of Science in Computer Technology on a state university on our hometown. As I promised myself, I started as a hard working student on first semester. Second semester has come that is when the habit that I have gained on my high school years came back. I realized that I was just pretending to be good but the habits of drinking, smoking, playing computer game aren’t removed inside myself. I started not to attend classes again and even spend my tuition just to party. And my parents discovered what I’ve done.

My parents were so mad at me that they told me that they won’t bring me to college no more. My life is a mess. My plan reaching my goal is now ruined. I f**ked up.

After that incident, I was so ashamed to all the people around me. I was a failure. So I decided to go to Manila to work on my Tita’s business. I’m hoping that I could save up so I can support myself to study. Two years have passed but the money I saved isn’t enough.

I was losing hope. But that is when I received a message from one of my Tita asking me if I want to study again. I immediately replied with a yes. She invited me to come over to her place so discuss about her condition before giving me a chance to study again. The terms are she will be the one to pick what course I will get and no drinking/smoking while I’m studying. I agreed to her terms and condition and promised myself not to lose this last chance given to me.

So I took up the course she wanted for me which is bachelor of science in Nursing. Lots of memorization, practical duties. Even if I don’t want this course I still studied hard so that this last given opportunity for me wouldn’t be a waste. I graduated on April 2014. I took the licensure exam two months after and luckily I passed. I was so thankful to my Tita for the opportunity she has given me.

There are still a lot of ups and down on my career as a nurse but I learned to love this profession. Without this I won’t be able to gain again the loss confidence in myself.

To all of you, don’t miss all the opportunity that is given to you. If you can, do it now. Don’t make my own mistake. I’ve wasted 4 years of my time that could have changed my life for the better.

image source taken from unsplash.com

13
$ 5.09
$ 4.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Pachuchay
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
+ 3
Avatar for Sergee0213
2 years ago

Comments

Wow you're so cool for not giving up with your goal and your tita seems really a nice person for sending you to college. I hope those kids who are addicted to different vices will not totally give in to such life like what you did. It is really indeed a struggle if a person get accustomed with really bad habits that could destroy their future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Its just a matter of what will you choose in the end - to change for the better or just stuck on the past

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako nga dati nag engineering kaso cool sa tingin ng iba Hahahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Basta importante di tayo sumuko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing is you didn't give up. Mistakes are the best teachers in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. If that opportunity came, I don’t know where will be I am today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang swerte ka kasi may Tita ka na nainiwala a din sa kakayahan mo. Naintindihan ko mga parents mo kung bakit nagdecide sila na di ka na ag aralin pero I am sure na andun pa din yun tiwala nila sayo.

I guess natural na yata na mapagdaanan lahat ng kalokohan kaag bata pa, that's part of growing. Yun iba kasi eh di na nakakawala sa bisyo pero buti ikaw eh nagawa mo pa din maging successful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Ewan ko kung asan ako ngayon kung di dahil kay Tita. Lifesaver turing ko sa kanya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama kaya swerte ka talaga..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahat naman tayo swerte.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the reason why regrets are always at the end. Well, how are you coping now? You are working as nurse for 8 years right. Its lifetime job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still drink and smoke occasionally, but I know now how to be responsible

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww that was an amazing story from you, I think this is really a success story and I have learned some lessons from you that is not good to miss an opportunity given to us no matter what and how the opportunity may comes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was hesitant to write it at first because that’s the dark side of my story. Everyone that was close to me right now didn’t know that story of mine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that's really good at least I have learned something from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so nice to know your story.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Di ko na nga masyao dinetailed at baka maban account ko. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago