Myths About Alcoholism

0 24
Avatar for Serg0213
3 years ago

Busting alcohol addiction myths


Myth: When I want to, I can stop drinking.

Fact: You can, perhaps; more likely, you can't. It's just an excuse to keep drinking either way. The fact is, you have no intention to stop. Despite all the evidence to the contrary and no matter the harm it does, telling yourself you should leave helps you feel in control.


Myth: My problem is my drinking. I'm the one who gets hurt, so no one is able to tell me to stop.

Fact: It is true that it is up to you to decide to stop drinking. But if you believe your drinking harms no one else but you, you are deceiving yourself. Alcoholism affects those around you, the ones closest to you in particular. Their problem is your problem.


Myth: I don't drink every day, or I just drink beer or wine, so I can't be an alcoholic.

Fact: Alcoholism is NOT characterized by what you drink, or even how much you drink, or when you drink it. The Results of your drinking are what characterize an issue. If you drink regularly or only on weekends, down shots of tequila or stick to wine, drink three bottles of beer a day or three bottles of whisky, whether your drinking creates issues in your home or work life, you have a drinking problem.


Myth: I'm not an addict because I've got a career and I'm doing all right.

Fact: To be an alcoholic, you do not have to be homeless and drink from a brown paper bag. Most alcoholics are able to maintain jobs, get through college, and provide for their families. Some are even in a position to succeed. But just because you are a highly functioning alcoholic doesn't mean that you don't put yourself or others at risk. The consequences will catch up with you over time.


Myth: Alcohol, like substance abuse, is not a' true' addiction.

Fact: Alcohol is a medication, and alcoholism is just as dangerous as opioid addiction. Body and brain changes are triggered by alcohol addiction, and long-term alcohol dependence can have devastating effects on your health, career, and relationships. When they stop drinking, alcoholics go through physical withdrawal, much as drug addicts experience when they leave.

7
$ 0.47
$ 0.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Serg0213
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Serg0213
3 years ago

Comments