Worth the Climb

10 20
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

"Best view comes after the hardest climb."

A very cliché quotes but still speaks the truth, that we often forgot.

Summit is the best place to be if you are looking for a refreshing and breathtaking view. However, we cannot witness that spectacularity if we just stay to the lower ground.

Prepare your bags and wear your mountineering shoes as I bring you with me to the hardest yet astonishing climb in your whole life...

Recently, we just climbed a mountain (Mt. Batuno) because of church gathering, since one of our churches is located at the summit of that mountain. Amazing? Yes I know. How come? Well, that's just how God works, what's impossible to men is possible to Him.

Back to the story, it would take 3 hours of climbing before you reach the summit. And since it is a bit gloomy day, we started climbing at 9 o'clock in the morning and got there exactly at 12 noon. Because of the hardships that we've been through, I've decided to divide our trail in 3 stages.

  • A piece of cake stage

  • Are we almost there stage

  • Am going back stage

Yes, I know. Maybe some of you already have a hint and some of you also find that stage's name weird, but trust me, you'll gonna find out the reason of those names. Just keep climbing with me.

A piece of cake stage

We are already at the foot of the mountain and you cannot hide the excitement in our faces.

We are so ready.

That's what we thought.

Along the trek, you can really hear the laughters and talking voices of each other. Some are running, some are walking as if they were just walking at the plaza, and some are busy taking pictures and videos for their vlogs and blogs. It feels like we don't know exhaustion. Of course, why would we feel that? We just began trekking.

No body wants to take a break and we just continue walking and following the trails of those people who had gone ahead of us.

"This is it? What a piece of cake!"

We stopped upon hearing this statement from one of my friends and my brows automatically raised.

However, I told to my self that he's right. It is so simple and we didn't even sweat. If you are going to examine it, it is just really a piece of cake.

And that's true. Sometimes, we love to judge or give an instant conclusion everytime we experience or see a small picture without even considering the bigger picture.

There are really part in our lives where everything just go smoothely as we planned it to be.

It seems like God is really favoring us and it feels really good right?

But we'll never appreciate the beauty of that smooth trailing, without challenges and hardships.

Are we almost there stage

We are already walking for almost 1 and a half hour and it is really becoming harder and harder.

The path would go up an down, rocky and muddy at the same time because of the rain last night.

Sweats are running down from my head. The earlier noise became very quiet and the weariness is so visible in our faces.

The only thing you can hear is our heavy breathing and gulp of water.

Questions are now raising in my head.

Why did I even go hear?

Why is it so hard?

I'm running out of water!

Those are just few of things that keep on running in my head.

"Are we almost there?"

I looked at my bestfriend and felt pity on her. Her shirt is so wet because of sweat.

I wanted to comfort her and say that yes, we are almost there. But I don't wanna give her false hope, we all know that we are still far.

It's just so saddening to know that sometimes, we need to act like we don't know something just for us to feel comfort.

And no matter how much you wanted to help and give comfort through lying, is you just can't because you know that it will just worsen the scenario.

We continued walking until we hear sounds of a flowing river. I don't know but I felt like hope is sprouting inside of me. That relaxing and comforting sound of nature give soothing effect to our weary body.

Am going back stage

We stayed for 10 minutes in the river. I splash some waters to my face to feel the refreshing feeling it creates.

Everyone, got some time to rest and breathe.

Indeed, nature has this healing effect that the medicines can't do.

We continued our trek with a small curve in our lips.

However, the thought that what we've gone through to the Are we almost there stage is the worst, is such a big lie.

I dropped my jaw as I looked at the steeper, rocky, muddy and near at the cliff path of thr mountain.

I swallowed my saliva and take a deep breathe.

Can we even make it?

Despite of the negative thoughts, we continue climbing.

Some of us stumble and slipped and some are already crying.

"Am going back"

I didn't just heard it from one person but in the majority of us.

We are all losing hopes.

But if we surrender here, our sacrifices from the previous stages will never be paid off.

"Stop! Look at where we've came from. We've come so far and we'll just give up here? I know its hard. We are all tired but I know that you guys know that great things comes from great sacrifices. Let's keep going! We're almost there."

I would lie if I'll say that I'm not thinking to give up. I did think of it. But I know, it's not the wisest thing to do right now.

We choose it.

We want it.

We're gonna make it.

Luckily, they listen to me and we keep on climbing.

Sometimes, a lil push and encouragement from our peers creates a big impact to our lives.

We need each other to keep going. Indeed, no man is an island.

We continued our trail and we've reached the Summit!

"We did it! Yohooo!"

I cannot fathom the joy I've been feeling at that momemt. It cannot be compared to anything else in the world. This is the joy that only comes after a very long hardships and challenges.

In life, before we decide to give up, let us always remind ourselves the reason why we started.

Along the way, God will never leave us and He will definitely send something that will give us hope and rest just like the river.

It is very important also to select your companions wisely.

Not just in climbing a mountain, but in our journey in life.

We didn't conquer the mountain.

The reality is...

We conquer ourselves!

Thanks for reading.

You can also read my article

Bon Voyage

5
$ 0.68
$ 0.50 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 2
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Comments

This is so inspiring. When you worked hard for it and persevered, it takes you to another level of fulfillment that finally you are there on top. What a success. 🙌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh myyy 🤗. Thank you so much for dropping by idol 😍. Indeed, we just need to keep going no matter what we face.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep writing ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reminds me of the time we scaled the path to get to Taal Volcano. Instead of going up on horseback, which was an expensive option, we decided to hike. And with a rocky trail, you just had to find some fun in it, pausing when it was tiring, and chatting to make you forget the hardship. But when you finally reach the summit and get a view of what you came for, it was more than a wow moment, and every aching muscle, and deep inhalation became so worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Taal Volcano is on my bucket list. I wanted to go there soon. Thanks for this amazing words of yours. It is really worth a climb 🤗.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely journey you guys embarked on, it glad you all kept moving till you got to the mark. The best view indeed comes from the hardest of climb.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we just need to keep moving. Patience is a virtue. Thank you champ 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How i wish I could mountain climb as well. But too bad, I'm not physically fit for that. I did try it once tho back when I was just using a crutch and not the prosthetic leg. But instead of climbing, we went downhill. Going down was easy, going back was not. I almost out of breath but my friend carried me until we reached the highway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still an amazing experience of yours. Mountain climbing is such an astonishing feeling indeed. Thanks for dropping by awesome 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a great experience, indeed. And you're very much welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago