Set Your Eyes On Tomorrow. It Is Next Door.

2 25
Avatar for Seniorman
1 year ago

I give thanks to God Almighty for deeming it fit for giving us the grace to see first Sunday in the month of April 2022. It is not by our power but by His grace . There's a need for us to do a bit of our own contributions to our own life irrespective of the position we may find ourselves. It is good to leave things for God to do but do you know that We ourselves have our own responsibility to execute to make everything to be normal. We are expected to note that we must do good today because if you do good today, we may not receive the Reward instantly. It may be sometimes later. In the same phenomenon , if we do bad today it is definitely has its own reward and we may not receive the Reward instantly , it may be sometimes later.

God has given us the will to use through our own volition. We are expected to exercise our will as we like. That's why many misuse their will anyhow forgotten that there's tomorrow. Whatever good we do today is waiting for us tomorrow. And in the same token , whatever bad we do today is waiting for us tomorrow. Why can't we set our eyes on tomorrow because our tomorrow is longer in duration than our today. Our today expires under 24hours but our tomorrow encompasses our own years on earth with that of our immediate and extended family. That's why we must always be ready to protect our names and that of the family names. Try your best to create good name for yourself. Whatever we do is attached to our names. Who has done this ? It was Peter or Vincent . Your name of the doer will always be attached. For this simple reason , let us endeavor to do good.

When I finished Secondary Education I was residing with a brother of mine in a big city of Lagos not so far from our local Community. I thought everything was okay until one evening when my Brother called me that you are going back to the Village tomorrow. I inquired from him"What had gone wrong sir". He replied "Am tired of you" Tired of me. What have I done wrong ? He replied me in harsh tone. "Nothing". He went on "By August ending ensure all your bags and baggages are packed out of my house and go back to the Village.". I did not utter a word hoping that by evening or tomorrow he would have changed his mind. I was wrong. The second day I went to have deep conversation with him and reminded him that I had applied for admission therefore let me know the outcome of this before I could be asked to leave. He remained adamant. He said No. To cut the long story short before the end of August I had left his house. I went to put up with a friend. I spent about two weeks there. Before then , an admission letter came for me but it wasn't the higher Institution I preferred most , well I managed to go. This took me out of the City to another State.

By December of that year , by that time I had used up the first semester and since registered for all the courses in the College of Education. In that December , everybody came home to celebrate Christmas with our Parents , as the Celebration was on , My Dad called me "Here is another Admission Letter for you from Lagos State Polytechnic to come and read "TOWN AND REGIONAL PLANNING ". This Course was more lucrative than the one I was reading. I asked "Who brought the letter., I asked, "Your brother , of course. When I looked through the admission letter it had expired. I didn't say a word. Twenty -five years after, everything had changed. That brother of mine was no more in wealth. The house he was living in Lagos was no more . It has been sold for no reason. He was living in abject poverty. His wife who felt unconcerned and indifferent to what happened died sometimes afterwards. Do you know that up till today did not tell me what actually happened. My offence was never stated. But insinuations went round that it was his wife who created bad impression about me to her husband. That brother of mine died some days after the death of his wife leaving kids to We his relatives that were not cared about.

His eldest daughter called me sometimes many years later to come and be the Chairman of her wedding reception . Apart from that , demanded $1000 from me to support her wedding. What should I do my friends reading this article ? That's tomorrow for you. Set your eyes on tomorrow. Someone whose education doesn't matter to her Daddy. Later invited to preside over her wedding reception. What a life. Tomorrow is next door. Let us do good. Nobody can say what could happen next minute. Set your eyes on tomorrow. You are not gods but human beings with blood. Feel for others.

We should always have it in mind that our tomorrow is next door. Do Good.

I read a story about one Mrs Victoria Gowon, she was a nursing science student at UCH. One day she fell sick, and it was exams period.

She abandoned her treatment, left where she was admitted and was forcing herself to write exams. When the renowned Professor Akinkungbe( former VC of both UI and ABU) was informed, the Prof was angry.

He sent for her and scolded her for taking such risk. "You silly young girl, go back for proper treatment, your health is more important, we'll arrange for your exams later” he said.

The girl was very appreciative, she later got married to the Ex Head of State of Nigeria Lt Col. Yakubu Gowon! One day she was on official visit to the same UCH, and all the management staff including Professor Akinkungbe lined up to welcome the first lady.

As she was greeting them one by one on the line, she got to where Prof Akinkugbe was standing. "Sir, do you remember me?” She asked. "Yes I do your Excellency!”the Prof responded.

“That your silly young girl" the first lady said with excitement.She then knelt down, just as she used to do when she was a student.

Thank you so much sir" The Prof also bowed in respect.

"Welcome your Excellency," he replied.

Only God knows tomorrow.....Please treat everyone with courtesy. Observe boundaries and recognize limits.

For whatsoever you sow, you will reap in abundance. It is very certain.

Nobody in life is greater than tomorrow. Whatever you do today would be attached to your name today and shall be available for everyone to read tomorrow. We are everyday using our hands to write our own history to be ready tomorrow. Do good.

Nobody should see himself as being greater than tomorrow. Everything on life has a day of reckoning if not for you certainly it could be your immediate family members or long distant relative.

I was in a taxi in Abeokuta sometimes last year , I met one elderly man inside the taxi as I was about to pay for the transport fare , the man said I shouldn't pay that he would pay for me.

He went further to tell me that he knew my Dad while alive. He described my Dad as a good man who deserved to be treated well , even his immediate and distant family members. Who knows tomorrow ? Nobody. Set your eyes on tomorrow. It is next door.

Subscribe To Seniorman Today For More Resourceful And Insightful Articles And Information.

Images From Unsplash. Thanks Greatly

5
$ 1.71
$ 1.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @MichaelBCH
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of Seniorman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Seniorman
1 year ago

Comments

Well, my brother, things happen in this life, and the best thing to do sometimes is to just move on and leave them to God. Your story is similar to mine but rather than show resentment towards my brother and his wife I live to prove them wrong by going on my own to achieve that goal they refused to aid me with.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I love what Mrs. Victoria put up there. She never thought she was in a better position, she knelt down just as she has done before becoming who she is. That is called humility. No one knows tomorrow and we should treat others in the kind and best way because when the table turns, no one would believe how it happened and it will only come by surprise especially to those who acted evil and wicked in the past.

$ 0.02
1 year ago