Pretty hurts

14 24
Avatar for Seni
Written by
2 years ago

Hello everyone 😊

happy new year and happy first Sunday of the year🎊🎉. I have been thinking of what to write and I didn't want anything on new year resolution and all I don't even have mine yet, I just wanted something else that's why I didn't post yesterday. I just want to start this year in a good mood not to stress or over think even though I know I have a lot on my plate.

Alright I was talking with a friend to today about how I wasn't really comfortable in church today because of my gele (head tie)then the topic hit me from there.

The society has standards for what is pretty, beautiful, or should be pretty, and we don't get to see the pain behind it. You might see someone dressed well, but you don't know the pain or struggle it took to dress that way; society values what's on the outside. You may have heard of Beyonce's song "PRETTY HURTS," in which she breaks down a lot of it.

-"perfection is a disease of the nation"

-"Blonder hair, flat chest, TV says bigger is better"

- south beach sugar free, Vogue says "thinner is better".

Please check out my sponsors, God bless you as you do that.

Sponsors of Seni
empty
empty
empty

Some of the ones I know about:-

1. Gele (head tie):- The choristers' uniform is native wear with gele for today's service. Normally, I don't like putting things on my head because I see it as a load😂, but I admire people who can and look pretty in it, so after tying it, after about 2 hours, I started feeling pain on my ears because it was tight (that's how it's supposed to be), I wasn't really comfortable, I just had to bare the pain until we closed. When I got home, I told my mother about it and she said that's how it usually hurts. You see how beautiful it is when people wear it, but you have no idea how much pain it causes.

2. High heels: You may have noticed that girls always carry slippers when they wear heels because they are not always comfortable. I actually like heels and how they look, but they can cause pain in the heel of your leg if worn for an extended period of time. Yes, it is attractive, but it can also be very uncomfortable and painful at times.

3. Appearance:- This varies depending on the area; as a model, you should be slim, but nowadays they prefer curvier women. Most people undergo surgery in order to be accepted by society. Your hair should be done properly, and you should look this way and that.

There are many more even for men too. You may argue that no one is forcing you to do these things, but some of them can't be stopped; you can't say we should stop wearing heels and the like.

I simply believe that you should do what you are comfortable with and not let beauty standards define you. There's nothing wrong with looking good, but do so at your own comfort. Beauty isn't just on the outside; it's on the inside as well.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.💚

Have a fantastic year!😊

8
$ 2.07
$ 1.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 4
Sponsors of Seni
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Seni
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Omo, ladies and their wahala sha, it's not a must you do all that before you can be presented but ladies don't like to hear it, they felt their dress isn't complete without all that. Sorry you were hurt throughout today, pele my dear

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much That's just it most of us feel that's how it should be, but there are sometimes we just accept it like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel the reason for doing that is what has been tagged as the current trend and then you would see a lot of people trying to blend.. this is a lesson to accept who we are and learn to love being ourselves… But let’s be real though, I can understand that everyone was made differently but it becomes too extreme that’s just completely wrong…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. There's nothing wrong in wanting to look better but we should appreciate people for who they are and not make them feel bad if they don't look a certain way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pretty hurts..but someone like me don't dress to impress. This current trend has to be copied well. We really need to cut our coat according to our size. Thanks

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. We should do things at our own comfort and according to our pockets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People nowadays value the outside look and neglect the inner side, but for me, I don't want to be stressed if they don't like me then I do not care. Really I also agree with it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂 We are mostly judged by how we appear outside

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LoL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it wrong for a person to strive to fit in for a profession that he or she genuinely enjoys but she has to undergo surgery before she can fit it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well it depends on the situation, its not wrong tho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People nowadays value the outside look and neglect the inner side, but for me, I don't want to be stressed if they don't like me then I do not care.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂 If we keep looking at the outside alone we don't get to see the full package

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly seni,

$ 0.00
2 years ago