Always have a guarantor

6 21
Avatar for Semaj2k21
2 years ago

#29

29/12/2021 | Image source: Canva and unsplash

Good morning my fellow writers and readers, it's two days to the end of the year and I'm sure that you all are making big arrangements for the new year to come. I read a couple of articles yesterday and what most people were writing about are their new year resolutions. Well, it's a good one to do so, but I'm not a fan of just writing my resolutions, I live more by actions and that's what keeps me moving, we all have our differences and who knows, I might later have to write about these resolutions before the end of the year too but we'd see how things go anyway. Another thing that caught my attention was that I read in two different articles about forgiveness and being forgiven, I must say that it's a real good one as I was actually challenged to seek those that I must have offended and make everything right because it's not a good thing to keep grudges into the new year. Another take into the new year is to make good plans. Have you made yours? Answer within yourself 😌

Sponsors of Semaj2k21
empty
empty
empty

To the article proper,

I met miss Vivian at a job interview in Lagos, I approached her because of the way she was looking, she really didn't look okay and prepared for the interview. I tried my best to cheer her up and make her wear a smile, at least for the interview but it was to no avail. At the end of the interview, I sat close to her, talked to her and she later opened up that she was going through a lot, she had lost her father about a year ago and it has been tough for her, her siblings and her mother to get proper feeding. She said that she decided to leave their hometown and come to Lagos where she would have a better chance of getting a job before she relocates her mum and siblings to Lagos too. I tried my best to encourage her as much as I could but there's only a little I could do, she claimed not to have anywhere to stay in Lagos, I was sorry for her but I also have a wife at home to care about, my wife would definitely not be fine with me bringing someone I don't know into the house either for a long or short period of time. Surprisingly, I got home and asked and my wife agreed that we helped her and make her stay in our BQ. Unfortunately, we both lost the job we were interviewed for and since we studied the same thing in school, we had this business that we could both do but where do I expect her to get that amount of money to start up a business, I discussed this with my wife and she said she'd never agree for me to make Vivian my business associate and I get her point, they are both women. My family and Vivian were really getting close and I decided to tell her about my plan and as I expected, she said it was a good one but she doesn't have that much to start up such a business so I started the business alone and the company was managed by my wife.

After about four months into the business, Vivian came to ask us to borrow her money to start up her business too, after so much contemplations, we decided to help her with a little amount and also supply her goods for the main time before she gets grounded in the business, we came up with #80,000 and gave it to her to start up her's on a small scale which she did and she's now finally grounded in the business and has infact packed from our house as she already earns a living to rent an apartment and in no time, she cut contact with us and also changed the location of her business outlet, we tried reaching her but to no avail and I couldn't help but wonder why she did that, maybe because of the money she borrowed but I saw her as someone who would afford that anytime and any day.

Meanwhile, she had just ordered some goods from us which she was also yet to pay. This time around, she even asked for more than she collects on a norm and I was wondering why but we were already so close that I trusted her with it and I documented everything. We waited for about six months and heard nothing from her, so we decided to report the matter and filed a court case against her, we met at the court house the next week and I wondered how she got the invitation but I guess that's not my job to worry, the good news is that she showed up. After we had both stated our part of the stories, the judge asked for our guarantor for all the goods purchased and the capital we borrowed her but we had no guarantor, the only thing that we had were receipts of the goods she took from us on credit. Vivian denied that we ever borrowed her any capital and since we had no prove or guarantor, she was asked to just return the amount for the goods she took on credit.

Closing thoughts

  • Never because of relationship with someone, except maybe your wife borrow or engage into any business transactions without getting a guarantor.

  • When dealing business, put relationship aside...

Thanks for reading 😊❤️

6
$ 1.10
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of Semaj2k21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Semaj2k21
2 years ago

Comments

See life! and if we pretend not to help someone, we will become bad to them but the experience we have been into has taught us lessons. This is also another reason to have a guarantor that will serve as a witness for us, not minding the kind of relationship it is.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Honestly, people aren't to be over trusted

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is life, when it comes to business cut relationship out. If you can't withstand cutting off relationship, then put a stop to it. Often times relationship in business brings troubles. The gaurantor, it's big lesson for us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it is, and we must really learn from it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relationships should not be mixed with real or official business

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It shouldn't be

$ 0.00
2 years ago