The family meeting

0 14
Avatar for Semaj
Written by
2 years ago

A family doesn't really mean people that a related to you by blood,a family could be a community of people where you derive joy when you meet or see them, it happened that this friend of mine has been inviting me for a fellowship in the university, I have been very reluctant to attend the meeting because I was not a member of the family, so I was actually surprised to get there and be accepted and received with joy, I now felt among as part of the family, we started off with a prayer session which didn't last too long, we prayed about the progress of our country, we prayed about the tests we were to write a day after the meeting, we also prayed in a lot of other things including the growth of our spiritual life which was the best part of the prayer as people went in the Spirit to show the manifestation of God's promises.

After the prayers, we had a brief session of discussion, I call it brief because it was too short and entertaining, the first discussion was about the issue of the federal government banning Twitter, we were asked to make our contributions on the topic " As a law abiding Christian, was it right to use VPN to access Twitter even when the government placed a ban on the media platform". A lot of people made contributions and they were really enjoyable to listen to, I was fascinated by the brilliance in answering the questions, most people were of the opinion that it was not a sin because we have the right to freedom of speech while some people countered them that it was the government that gave the right to freedom of speech and they can do it the way they want in the best interest of national security...

But I was of the opinion that if the reason behind the ban was not really tangible, it's not a sin to access the app, moreover, the government itself was still using this same medium to make some information clear even when the ban was active. There are some churches that actually just use Twitter to reach their members for online service, in what position does the government stay to batter their relationship with God. Obviously, such people would use VPN, after all, God is greater than the government so it's better to get punished by man than by God. There are even some international news that need to be heard from some international bodies through Twitter and it really caused a lot of damages to some people's home, because they were disconnected in a kind of way. I would like to go on with all their arguments but I feel I should write a debate on the topic itself.

The second discussion at the meeting was also controversial but spiritual in a way to, the topic was "if a friend gifts you money, are you meant to pay tithe from such money",

it was a really tricky question which I found hard to even answer in my mind not to talk of when the organizer pointed to me to start the discussion, I was tensed because I didn't expect to be called, it was just my first day at the meeting but I had no choice than to answer because all eyes were on me at this point in time. I started by introducing myself to the family and said I don't see any offense in giving our tithe from a gift because it all depends on our relationship with God, we can't impress God with our riches because he's the owner of silver and gold, so I also concluded that we can as well give God more than 10 percent of the income, and it just depends on your commitment with God and I was clapped as I went back to my seat, my explanation killed the discussion that we had to go into the next item which was a word of exhortation which was taken by a mid age man and he also talked about giving God the best of what we have, I was really touched as he went on and on in the preaching, at the end of his preaching, her shared some testimonies to keep our faith a float, which we prayed after for riches

and most importantly journey mercies of the founder of the fellowship who is to come to Nigeria by November, we were urged to also give towards the coming of the man of God... After that we had the family meeting song which was my first time of hearing, I wasn't use to it so I just closed with the rythm and ate my mouth for the lyrics and resonated with the frequency of their excitement.

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @ErdoV
Avatar for Semaj
Written by
2 years ago

Comments