No longer

0 21
Avatar for Semaj
Written by
2 years ago

Does she know?

That I'm slipping away,

Like rubbery ducks in a bath,

A blurry memory in the past,

Sometimes I catch her

Staring,

At me,

Perhaps wondering,

When I grew old enough to lie,

Old enough to hide behind smiles,

Airy laughs,

When I learned to cover weakness,

With jokes and self jabs,

To keep her from worrying,

To conceal my worrying,

She must wonder,

How I face the world with such

a tiny body,

Why I haven't drowned,

Why my head still floats,

She must wonder,

If I have reached the point,

Where life shifts from a ride to a chase,

Where problems adorn me like a choke necklace,

I see it in her eyes that she knows that,

When I laugh, I giggle and I

speak another lie

No longer will her little girl ask,

"When I grow older, what will I be?"

©miriel_oye

1
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Abhay

Comments