My trip to awba dam

1 12
Avatar for Semaj
Written by
2 years ago

Little did I know that my university has a very huge body of water hiding in one corner of the university, as I went for my workshop practice last week, I saw from a far the wide spread of water and thought it was just a very small body of water, only for me to come out and find out that it's a very huge body of water.

This dam extends a very large surface area and was scary to look at it from a far off talk more of moving close to it, but as more people gathered around the place, I also had to courage to near it even though we could not see the whole spread of water, but we could catch a glimpse of this natural body. I could only imagine what could happen if someone falls into this dam because none of us knew the depth of the water...

So on the following Saturday, we decided to go to the dam to have a look at the beautiful water body, we started by walking through the vice Chancellor's lounge, saw a few buildings in the fenced area, he has dogs and security men who take turns in their duty, the house was so big and might and every where was clean and quiet.

I was also told that the son of the VC is a student of the university too, that made more sense when I saw a group of my course mates coming out of the building, but that was not where I was going exactly, I and my two friends moved on, we observed old buildings and new ones that are meant for professors in the university. I was not able to take pictures of the houses and other places we went to because it was really getting dark and the road was lonely, so we walked faster and we got to one house that had fleet of cars, dogs chained around the gate and a security man, I guess it's the bursar's house that I've been hearing of, the house really looked loaded, it had solar panels and looked like they'll never suffer power outage, the cars there were highly beautiful and I was surprised to see such cars within the university.

So we went on and infact started running because it was getting dark and looked like it'll rain, as we approached the dam, we saw a woman which we greeted and passed to the dam, the dam now looked really beautiful but there were some set of guys by the dam with their car smoking, they looked like yahoo boys, I mean internet fraudsters, their look wasn't good and I doubted if they really were the university students but they weren't my business, I was there to have a view of the dam which was nice and big.

As we talked and discussed the reason why the university isn't generating power from this dam, the woman we saw earlier walked up to us to challenge us that why were we by the water side, she said she was the security in charge but I guess that she was just showing power because she couldn't even move near the guys smoking but we pleaded to her that we were also students and we just wanted to check the water body, she allowed us and we started there and enjoyed the calmness and fresh breath in this area, it was silent and serene, we also took pictures by the water side which was the most scary part of the adventure.

We were naughty as we took the pictures, one of us was willing to enter the water and take a picture but we were scared of the possibility of meeting a shark in there, beside the water on the others side of the road was a snail which was brought back to the hostel to eat.

It was indeed a memorable experience as we headed back to our hostel with sigh of fulfilment, I really wish I could still go there once or twice again in the coming months... And share more memories with my friends and family too...

Enjoy as you read...

Thanks ❤️

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Semaj
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

The first day I went to University of Ibadan, I got lost on my way back to Zik Hall, everywhere looked familiar and just too big

$ 0.00
2 years ago