One of my Last Posts on Read Cash – A Rant

8 28
Avatar for Scotty17
3 years ago

It’s been real, it’s been fun, but hasn’t always been real fun. I joined read.cash on a whim and within a month had made over $150. Sounds great, right? Well, not so much and here is why. Quite simply, things don’t add up the way I imagined they would. I am sorely disappointed.

I did all the right things: made comments, sponsored people and wrote grammatically, full length articles. None of my content was ever plagiarized but rather 100% original. But what has it profited me for my time? Of the aforementioned $150 plus, my balance as of this writing is a paltry $52.07

Where did all the rest of the money go? Sure, read.cash take a small percentage, and the people I sponsor get a few cents a month, but that does not account for a $100 loss. Anybody have a logical explanation – because I don’t!

And by the way, I am not giving up on Bitcoin Cash because it it is a great digital coin. In fact, I am buying a coin this Friday, along with $100 worth of another coin which out of respect for read.cash will not name. But that coin is hotter than a Manila night.

At any rate, the last three articles I wrote prior to this one received a grand total of, get this, nothing. Where did the @TheRandomRewarder gallop off to?

I’ve also found that people are greedy on this site. They think by some miracle they will strike it rich. That’s not going to happen. If that is what you are seeking, go mine for gold in the Philippines where the second largest deposit of unearthed gold is located. Seriously. Not only are they greedy, but I get comments begging for money.

And sponsors? Not a single one! Poor writers get them, especially females. Is there a gender disparity? It would appear to be so. But hey, more power to you. After all, it beats prostitution.

And here is another reason why my time here will be strictly curtailed: poor grammatical articles. The rules specifically state that grammar is rewarded. I’ve found the converse to be true. I have read articles on here my ex third grade students could write better. Horrific! And yet these “writers” are making money? It not only boggles the mind but is the antithesis of what read.cash rules dictate.

Yet another reason I am will be spending far less time on here is because my business clientele are returning since most of the US is opening up for business again. I make a minimum of $20 per double spaced page writing for clients. Just for reference, yesterday I made $80 on 2.5 hours (3,711 pesos). This is not bragging but merely demonstrating the vast disparity between the pay I receive here and actual hard cash (though it is all fiat currency).

Yes, I know I won’t be missed and I am absolutely fine with that. Greener pastures are what I seek. I’ve been writing for three decades so I believe I know what I am doing, but read.cash is just not working out for me. My wife complains I am wasting my time writing 2 pages here for pennies when I could me making $40 from a client in the US. She has a point (and by the way, she is a Filipina).

A final reason for spending considerably less time here is the dire lack of a response to emails sent to the folks who run the site. You never receive a reply. Don’t believe me? Try it. Try writing a well thought out email and wait, and wait, and wait. You’ll get nary a response.

Overall, read.cash is a fine concept but it is simply no longer worth spending a lot of time on it for me. It needs improvement. Badly.

I do have plans to write one more fictional article before throwing in the proverbial towel, if time permits. As it is, I woke up at 2:30 a.m. here in Asia to write this article before getting to work on projects my clients sent me.

In the end, I’ll take each of the articles I have written here and compile them into a a small book to sell on Amazon (who will also likely rip me off). Hell, I may just publish independently.

For those of you who push on here at read.cash, I sincerely wish you the best. Until I appear again, if ever, I bid you fare thee well and adieu.

Oh, and in the time it took me to write this article, I lost 36 cents. How? Why?

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
3 years ago

Comments

I didn't know you were strict kuya. Yes, I have the same sentiments. Im using the site for improvement, I just started to write again. Hoping in time I'd be able to write a book and publish it. I work full time in a publishing company so, it would be a waste if I cant publish at least one. Even offered the privy to a friend and still no manuscript to submit as of this writing. Love your articles though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good for you. I have about 6 books in the process and a few more screenplays. I'm always writing. It's what I've done all my life. Am I strict? Depends on what we're talking about. Manners, yes. Grammar, yes. Honesty, yes. These things matter to me in a falled and depraved world - and a lot more.

I almost quit this platform early on. There's so much rubbish on here. Very little positivity. It's all about kissing butt and making money from doing so. It sickens me, actually.

But I changed my mind. I am here to serve God and spread His message. I am not here to necessarily cast stones. This site doesn't pay me like my other writing business I run from home, but like I said, it is His message to others than keeps me here now. I have to use my talent wisely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I noticed and the articles are hitting notes. If you had a manuscript ready I won't mind sponsoring 1 book to publish. They are not giving me any guidelines unless I can produce a manuscript to submit. So if its go for you, just let me know. Mine is still, never mind. I haven't started anything yet!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truthfully, I am never satisfied ending a book. They are all works in progress. Perhaps I will compile posts on here at the beginning of 2022 and edit them and go with that. I am not sure yet. I do have a short film to make when the weather remains clear here in the Philippines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! End one already and give me the manuscript so I can submit it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could respond to almost any sentence, but I’ll start with grammar. I am Hungarian, but I try hard to use English as much as possible. If someone doesn’t always write correctly it may not be silly, maybe they don’t write in their own language. The reason for the decline in your balance was probably a large drop in the value of bch. Your frustration is well felt in the article and I fully understand you. I was never visited by the random rewarder and I never got a response to my messages from the team. 😅 But I'll try. I wish you much success in your work, in writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, hey, that's because the money you receive is in Bitcoin Cash, and Bitcoin Cash's price is very volatile, being played by whales and speculators.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just here to comment that if you didn't spend money and it shows $52 instead of $150, you probably got more money when BCH price was very high (It's less than half what it was a while ago right now... So you could say you should have $104+ if the price stayed the same.) It will go back.

As for the RandomRewarder? Well, it IS random... I still get rewarded by it right now, but I don't count on it forever.

Do you use tags/communities properly? I get upvoted by Random Rewarder much more when I use more than 5 tags, especially when I use unique/specific tags: "Strategy RPG" for example...

$ 0.00
3 years ago