How to Improve Your Grammar and Earn More BCH

17 58
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

There are many writers on #read.cash, but not many great writers. Great writers possess the ability to pick a topic in short order and spin an interesting story or narrative with clarity and proper grammar.

Introduction

At present, there are 72 thousand plus "writers" on read.cash, but the vast majority are inactive. For whatever reason, they do not participate in the platform and benefit from it nor do they contribute to its success. That is their prerogative, but as active writers, we should all strive to improve our grammar.

Those of us who are actively involved do contribute to the platform, and it is the good writers who desire to become better, even great, by learning and diligent application, as opposed to just raking in #BCH currency with sloppy work. These people consist of an even smaller group.

In short, there are several ways to improve one's grammar, and as a consequence, earn more #BCH. Let's get into it.

Proper grammar

Someone once quipped, "Before. B.e.f.o.r.e., not b4. We speak English. Not Bingo."

That anonymous quote cuts to the heart of the matter. It dissuades laziness, and a lot of laziness may be observed here on read.cash. I am not casting stones, but rather I am going to show you how to become a better writer, and in doing so, permit you to bring more credibility to this platform, as well as money in your digital/physical wallet or purse.

Fixing your grammar

There are several ways to improve your grammar, and that holds true for the most experienced writers, since we all make grammatical mistakes, but glaring and repetitive errors should not be tolerated by anybody who professes to be a writer.

The simplest way to go about improving your grammar is to use spellcheck. It's free! I really do not comprehend why people do not use it. If you are typing an article on this platform on your smartphone, you likely have spellcheck. If you do not, you're going to make several errors.

Another way to improve your grammar is to proofread your text and/or run it through #Word or #Pages. You may download either for free, even on your #smartphone. If you do not want to download either one (or both), you can go to the following link for a free spell and grammar check:

https://www.online-spellcheck.com/

Yet another way to improve your grammar is by reading voraciously. I'm talking at least a book or two per week. "But I don't have the time!" you argue. Understood. Been there. Done that. Have the tattered t-shirt. But you will never be a great writer or likely not even a good one, either. It's your choice; it's your money and reputation on the line.

At any rate, there is simply no excuse not to do any of these things mentioned above. Laziness begets downvotes and hence less #BCH. Additionally your sponsors may stop their monthly gift.

My experience

As a longtime writer, I have experienced the harsh reality of rejection from publishers and those in the film business. If anyone submits a spec screenplay and it contains more than four grammatical errors, the readers dump it in file 13 - the trash. There are no exceptions.

As a writer of other things, such as academic essays, website content, press releases, short stories, TV commercials, You Tube content and more, there is no room for error. I must deliver the best writing to my clients or lose them to a better writer.

Conclusion

I am on this platform daily, mostly writing, but always reading, and sometimes commenting. Quite frankly, I read the title and the intro of people's articles and immediately know whether I am going to click on it and read any further. You can trust that others do this as well, because they certainly do.

In other words, readers want clarity and proper grammar, and if you do not provide this, you are losing money, it's as simple and straightforward as that.

It is my desire to not only write good content and improve this free platform, but that you do as well. I truly wish you the best of success in your writing endeavors.

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 13.10
$ 8.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 3.45 from @MarielB22
$ 1.27 from @RazorFist
+ 6
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Comments

I am agree with you. Grammar really matters a-lot, I also use spell checker because I do many mistakes while writing. Well! Actually I am not a good writer though but after writing 5 or 6 articles I think my writing has improved a-lot but still I am learning. Your suggestions are really helpful for newbie. And I appreciate it mate because when I joined this platform I faced much difficulties in writing and no one suggest me these tips. And I was also thinking to write about on it. Good work mate. ☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome. Keep reading, writing and editing and you will be fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with you. Writers here should make an effort to improve their grammar. Many people publish daily and up to 2 times a day. Without caring about doing a basic revision of the texts. And that only adds to the idea that there isn't quality content here. My grammar may not be perfect. But I do try to be as good as possible, even though it takes me many more hours to finish an article.

But I'm not sure that those who don't use grammar properly don't get BCH since I've seen how the robot sometimes rewards articles that are quite hard to understand because of the poorly way they are written. So with no or poor effort, many are still rewarded.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true. The rewarder states that s/he scans for grammar but I don't observe this happening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"If you don't have the time to read, you don't have the time (or the tools) to write."

  • Stephen King (my favorite author)

Although English is not my first language, I learned simple English grammar through reading. Prepositions are exceptionally hard since the Filipino language only has the word "sa" in place of a preposition. But when I get confused, I just make use of the free tools the internet provides - like google, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, Grammarly, etc. There are a lot of tools available online. People should make use of these tools.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like I belonged to those people who have a bad grammar in terms of speaking English since that's not my main language. I'm not a good writer here, but I'm really trying to do my best. Sometimes, grammar fixers are not yet enough to call myself as a good writer since I've been not yet clearly imply what do I want to say even they're 100% free from grammatical errors. Seriously, I didn't say this is my way to drag your article, but this comment certainly entails through my self evaluation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry, my friend, I am confused by your use of words. They do not conform to normal speech patterns.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry also if I told anything that could make you confused. That's how the way I talk, and I guess that I'm not formal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to add this. You may even add it to your article if you want. There is a great extension we may use in the browser, that's called ''Grammar and Spell Checker β€” LanguageTool''. I always use it and even though I make mistakes sometimes. That's why, even after publishing, I always reread what I wrote to find mistakes and correct them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yikes! Bro, harsh but true. I run mine through Grammarly after Word.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am just posting the Bloghound way and I can't stand grammar nazis :D Though I know the difference between "your and you're", we should always aim to not make basic mistakes like what I have mentioned. Btw, I like emojis too lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't speak for him but I agree that there is a plethora of poor grammar on the site. Needless errors.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's given, Mariel. Thank you for the sentiments. Good afternoon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm one of the people who do not click on bad grammatical posts. I remember when I was younger and went bowling with my Father. He said, "Mariel, never bowl with poor bowlers or you will never improve. I stopped bowling because of the pandemic, but when I stopped I carried a 163 average.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Great analogy! I'm aware that not many people will read my post, because it hits them in their delicate sensibilities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago