#17 English connects me to the world 🌏

17 87
Avatar for ScarletDoll
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Language is part of our daily living. It helps us to interact and share our thoughts freely. Every country has its own language. I am living in the Philippines and my language is "Filipino" and my dialect is "Tagalog". But in this article I will talk more about my second language which is "English".

At first I am having a hard time learning how to read and speak in english as it is not my native language. We had been colonized by different countries including Spain, Japan and USA. It also has an effect on some of our words cause our ancestores had adopted those foreign languages. Most of our tagalog words are a mixture of Spanish. Let's get back to the topic which is english 😅.

English is one of our subject from Elementary, High School and College. It means that at an early age we are introduced and taught the english language aside from our native language. It made english as my second language. There are also other subjects which are associated with English like Math and Science where the books are written in english.

This is also a reason why most of the Filipinos are capable of speaking, writing and reading in english. We are lucky enough that it is part of our education because it really helped me a lot in terms of my previous jobs, activities, and other stuffs where english is required.

English is considered to be the international language. It will then help us to connect with other nationalities if we don't know how to speak their native language. English simply connects us to the world.

It doesn't mean that if we speak in English we did not like our own language. Ofcourse I still love speaking in Filipino as I am more comfortable with that. But in today's society English is part of communication. It is an advantage if you know how to speak in english.

To be honest with you I wann tell you that I am not much fluent in speaking or writing in english. Sometimes I commit mistakes in grammar, spelling and pronunciation. I also feel embarass when a kid speaks better than me in english. But it's okay it just happened that they were taught well in english. Actually children are fast learners so that it would be easy for them to familiarize themselves in different languages.

Through reading and writing we can improve our english skills and that is what I keep on doing as much as I could. When I was a kid I have a lot of reading books, most of it was a story books written in english. I think that also helped me to enhance my reading comprehension. Yeah, learning is a continues thing in this world and it is never too late to learn more. As I keep on practicing in english I can see that I improved a lot. It is the courage that helps me to keep going despite I am having difficulties. Before I am not good at english but as I encourage myself to learn it more seriously then it resulted greatly.

They also said that if you try to speak with those who are fluent in english you can easily learn their language. That is why I am trying to interact with foreign people upto now. Well it really helps actually. I can also learn some unfamiliar words which is also better to use when speaking to someone. My only concern is they speak very fast and in result I can't understand some of the words.

I am also enjoying the benefit of learning the english language as I can use it to communicate with foreign people, use it in my sidehustles like blogging or writing and learn more about other people.

But aside from English I also want to learn different langauges like French, Spanish, Japanese and many more. I also like to learn the British accent because when I am watching a movie it always sounds great to my ears.

(Images are from Unsplash)

14
$ 0.91
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
+ 1
Avatar for ScarletDoll
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments

When I went home my 2-year-old nephew can speak better English than me with a British accent. 🤣

He's too slang for me lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kids are very intelligent and it is so nice to hear how they speak fluently in english, so cute and adorable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eglish is the universal language, so we need to practice the language. we need it a lot especially in communicating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is really an advantage if we know the english language.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel this pain of embarrassment when a child speaks better than me, but I can't help it because this English, even though it's a general Language, is a borrowed Language to us here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's okay as we can never avoid that to happen. If children can then we can also make it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

English is the unifying language of the world, even in some countries the language of their countries is adopted from English. In fact, there are some words in English that have actually become the local language, whether it's coincidence or whatever, that's reality. I am an English teacher at a junior high school and I try to introduce them to the joys of being able to speak English.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am happy that you were an English Teacher 😊. Learning the english language is also fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning an English language is really important sis. Dami talagang mga advantages pag matuto sa English kasi it's International Language.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May time din na ako na ang sunusuko at nakaka nose bleed din haha. Pero tama ka may advantage pag maalam mag english.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning different languages is actually interesting and for now English seems to be the well known language spoken worldwide though in my place we have so many languages what should I say, lol. I speak three tribal language in every city far from 50kms away people speak different language here, one national language and at last English, lmao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it is very fun to learn other language too. By means of understanding English I am able to connect with other people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's basically we have to master the language because it is a must because of global influences. The real world of work is also always synonymous with international languages

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning other languages is also good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, due to English we can connect to the world and i make many friends on social media ❣️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is so fun as we can interact with other Nationalities too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago