Benguet: My Beloved Province

14 105
Avatar for SassySissy
3 years ago
Photo in an artice from Flickr

Besides from the amazing city of Baguio, have you ever visited any places in the province of Benguet? If you said yes, I know you added a very special memory in your life but if you said no, then you are definitely missing out.

All my life, I never left my Beloved province of Benguet as it also never left me.

I was born in Benguet. I had my first walk in Benguet. I had my first words in Benguet. I had my first relationship in Benguet. I finished my studies in Benguet. I had my first job in Benguet and last but not the least; I would definitely die in Benguet.

Photo in an article from AsiaTravelGate

Growing in a very wonderful neighborhood made my life so much easier. I was not able to experience so many hardships in my life – at least when I was still a kid. I was able to build good relationships with people. I had a lot of friends that really stood by me until this very moment. I was given a family that never left my side and most specially, I was blessed with a wonderful home, with a wonderful province of Benguet.

If you will ask me, I would still choose to live in Benguet over other places. There just something in here that makes me so comfortable. It gives me a peace of mind and definitely gives me a sense of freedom.

Above are few of my reasons why I would stand by Benguet until the end of time. You may not relate as much as I do since you have not experience these things first hand but I would try to check you in the things that might interest you to come and visit my Beloved province of Benguet.

Photo on Pinterest

I have also written an article about my city - The Best City in the Philippines: Baguio City.

GOOD FOOD, GOOD LIFE

Have you ever tried the infamous “pinikpikan”? Have you ever tried “itag”? or ever tried “pinuneg”? These food names may not sound fancy nor delicious as you may think but these delicacies are to die for. Take it from me!

Pinikpikan

Photo on Pinterest

Pinikpikan is derived from the Ilocano word “pikpik” which mean to hit repeatedly. The process of preparing pinikpikan is a bit drastic. You literally have to hit a live chicken repeatedly until it passed out and eventually die. This is done because it said to bruise the chicken flesh, bringing blood to its surface which will improve its taste. Then the chicken will be “defeathered” and burned to completely clean the outside of the chicken. After chopping the chicken into smaller cuts, it would now be ready for cooking.

Pinuneg

Photo on Facebook

This delicacy is mostly prepared during pig sacrifice ceremonies that include weddings and deaths. This food is originated from my people, the Igorots. This is made from pig’s blood or sometimes with cow or carabao’s blood, grinded pork fat, salt, onions, garlic, and ginger. All of these would be mixed together and stuffed into a casing made of the pig’s intestine. For visualization purposes, it looks like sausages or “longganisa” but much bigger in size.

Watwat

Photo by AbsCbn News

This food is just basically a boiled meat. It will be chopped into big cuts and usually served big ceremonies and event like weddings and christening.

Etag

Photo by Dalikan-Blogger

Etag is piece of meat salted and cured. It is air-dried for some time. This food has a foul smell but tastes absolutely amazing. Etag is actually mixed with pinikpikan to make a bracing canao ritual food.

Kinuday

Photo by Dalikan - Blogger

It is also a piece of meat the has been salted and cured just like etag. The only difference is that kinuday is smoked and not air-dried.

The above mentioned food are all savory and does need rice. But those are not the only food Benguet has to offer. We also have some desserts for people with a sweet tooth. Some of them are the following:

Diket turon

Photo by Ang Sarap

It’s a delicacy that is same with the ones you probably have in your place right now. The only difference is that diket turon is a triple treat of saba, camote, and glutinous rice in one.

Sadkik

Its just like your usual pancakes. Sadkik is what we call a pancake that is topped with margarine, peanut butter, honey, condensed milk, and chocnut.

Strawberries

You already what strawberries are. This fruit is one of the most popular type of fruit in Benguet. The province of Benguet actually is the biggest supplier of fresh strawberries.

Photo by Living Nomads

TOURIST SPOTS TO WANDER

I would not be mentioning tourist spots located in the city of Baguio as I have already included them in my previous article: The Best City in the Philippines: Baguio City.

I will share to you the hidden paradises of my Beloved province of Benguet.

La Trinidad Strawberry Fields

Photo saved from Youtube

This has been one of the greatest assets of the province of Benguet. It is 3 kilometer away from Baguio and is located at Baguio-La Trinidad Road. A lot of fun activities can be done here and the most popular one is the strawberry picking. It is a a bit pricy but its totally worth it.

The Valley of Colors

Photo by RealLivingPh

This spot is also located at Baguio-La Trinidad Road. This beautiful scenery will give you instagram-worthy pictures. This amazing place covers three sitios –Botiwtiw, Stone Hill, and Sadjap. The valley of colors is just like a kaleidoscope mix of colors.

Bell Church

Photo by Bedroom Checker

This has been included in my previous article but this place is just too beautiful that I have to put it again in here. This church is a very important cultural and religious place for the Chinese community in Benguet. It is a must to visit because of its one of a kind architectural design.

Atok Flower Farms

Photo by TripAdvisor

This amazing tourist spot is located at Halsema Highway, Atok, Benguet. This spot is a two-hectare plantation that is open for tourists.

Buguias Vegetable Terraces

Just a few kilometers above Atok, you will be able to find this wonderful creation. This town, according to statistics, produces 70% of the vegetables distributed in the island of Luzon that sometimes even reaches the island of Mindanao.

The tourist spots below are my runner ups that still needs to be recognized.

Mount Pulag

Photo in an article by WanderingFeetPh

Mount Kabuyao

Photo by TheCityRoamer

NATIVES OF BENGUET

Photo on Pinterest

I would not put anything in here as I have already written an article about it. But this is also a major reason why the province of Benguest is so much loved. Just check here: Igorot: My Native People.

I am not sure if I missed something important about my Beloved province of Benguet. But there is one thing I am sure of, Benguet will not disappoint you.

14
$ 0.44
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.02 from @lerkfrend
+ 1
Sponsors of SassySissy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SassySissy
3 years ago

Comments

I can see how much you love your province :) I think you covered a lot, but what types of animals live there?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You are right when you mentioned the love I have for my province. With regards to the animals living here, its just probably the same with the ones you have in your place right now. I mean there's a lot of poultries and piggeries here. But if you're asking about local animals, there's no really to share.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Benguet... A place must be Visited...! After Swaat KPK Pakistan... Its the most beautiful place i am pleased of.. the most attractive thing was 🍒 cherry 🌸. It will be great if i will visit there❣️❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That would be a great idea. I wish you well and hope that you can come here and enjoy the things my province of Benguet has to offer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

your province is beautiful! thank you for sharing. it is a joy to learn about new food and culture! i have subscribed and look forward to more!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your kind words about my province. My province of Benguet is something that I am really proud of. I hope in the future, you will come and visit wander my province of Benguet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing! Ok really it's a little bit more than amazing. Your articulation, seems so legit and true to your heart like you are telling a love story that you star in or a beautiful dance that you recite every single night in place of your lullaby. This is a dream really, definitely part of my bucket list.

Good read! Thank you very much! Bless up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't believe you liked it. I appreciate your kind words. I actually write articles that really are close to my heart. I wanna say thank you for stopping by. God bless as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a beautiful country :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar ico
3 years ago

Oh wow! Thank you for appreciating our country. What I posted in this article is not even an inch of what our country is all about. Its just mainly focused on a single province. But, Im still glad that you alotted some of your time to read my article. Thank you so much!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You have said it here "Benguet will not disappoint you." and surely, it will not. I have said that I love Baguio on one of your previous article and I must say here again that I also do love Benguet. I haven't been there yet but I know how beautiful is that place can be. And the foods!! It seems so delicious. Not only on its taste but also its meaning. I will definitely go there someday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely! People think that Baguio is the only interesting place in Northern Luzon but there are more places here that should be discovered. Benguet being one them. In any case you will visit here, a good hiking at Mount Pulag is something that I suggest for you to do. I hope one day you'll be able to visit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have been to Baguio many times but we weren't able to visit Benguet because of lack of time. We usually just travel for a day and not stay there so time is really limited. I really hope to visit Benguet one day. Maybe when I have the means to travel without depending on the family. But I will definitely go there. Maybe not sooner but it's already listed on my bucket list.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With this pandemic getting worse, things we want to do is somehow affected. But all we can do right now is to follow all protocols so that we can be able to help fighting this virus. I hope you will be able to cross out all of those things on your bucket list.

$ 0.00
3 years ago