A question to ask yourself: What is my motivation?

4 51
Avatar for SassySissy
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, 2021, Personal, Writing, ...

"If people are doubting how far you can go; go so far that you can't hear them anymore."

- Michele Ruiz

This quote by the so much respected Michele Ruiz is funny if you take it as it is but really makes a lot of sense if you actually read between the lines.

Do not give up.

In my 22 years of existence, I have experienced a lot of problems in life. From a very simple one to a life changing one. Its not something that we can avoid nor prevent, its really just a part of life - a part of life where it pushes you to your limits and tests how well you can handle them.

These problems and hardships are one of the main reasons why we can't achieve our goal and dreams that easy. It hinders as to do the best we can. It just keep pulling us down every time we are on our way up.

Although, its much easier to withstand these problems that prevents us from achieving our dreams if we have something to hold on to or someone to get our strength from. But most especially, these problems are nothing if we have a motivation in life.

Find out what keep you motivated.

So that we will be on the same page, let us first define the word "motivation".

"Motivation is the process that initiates, guides, and maintains goal-oriented behaviors. It is what causes you to act, whether it is getting a glass of water to reduce thirst or reading a book to gain knowledge.

Motivation involves the biological, emotional, social, and cognitive forces that activate behavior. In everyday usage, the term "motivation" is frequently used to describe why a person does something. It is the driving force behind human actions."

Source: VeryWellMind

From the definition stated above, "motivation" is the driving force behind human action and translating that into a question, its more like; what is your motive in doing such thing? or what is the reason why you want to do something?

As a child up until now, I was often asked what is my motivation in life. I always answered the same thing, its my family. My family is the reason why I do things so well. I want them to be proud of me which they are by the way.

Think of your family

They are not the only motivation I have, there's so much more of course. I have my extrinsic and intrinsic motivations. You might be wondering what are these "extrinsic" and "intrinsic" motivations are? It is the two types of motivation. For you to be able to fully understand what it is all about, let us define the two.

"Extrinsic motivations are those that arise from outside of the individual and often involve rewards such as trophies, money, social recognition, or praise.

Intrinsic motivations are those that arise from within the individual, such as doing a complicated crossword puzzle purely for the personal gratification of solving a problem."

Source: VeryWellMind

From the definition above, its actually self explanatory. It just basically says that Extrinsic Motivations are the external or the driving force in your surroundings that make you to do something. Money is the very common example of it. On the other hand, Intrinsic Motivation is the push that is coming from the inside of you. In short, the feel of self accomplisment and satisfaction.

Its okay to be motivated by money.

From those two types, I have a lot more of extrinsic motivations which as I have mentioned my family, money of course, and the appreciation and recognition from other people.

I have wondered and you might as well, why do we have to have a motivation? Apparently, there are explanations for that.

"Understanding motivation can:

  • Help improve the efficiency of people as they work toward goals

  • Help people take action

  • Encourage people to engage in health-oriented behaviors

  • Help people avoid unhealthy or maladaptive behaviors such as risk-taking and addiction

  • Help people feel more in control of their lives

  • Improve overall well-being and happiness"

Source: VeryWellMind

You can do it!

I fully understand now why motivation is really an important thing to have. It just gives you the power and the urge to fulfill something such as achieving our dreams.

Now let me ask you. What is your motivation?

8
$ 6.38
$ 6.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of SassySissy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SassySissy
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, 2021, Personal, Writing, ...

Comments

Your articulation is on point. I love it! You've gotten so much better in a week's time. " If people are in doubt, go so far you can't hear them no more" haha... Best advice ever.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your kind words. I am really trying to widen my vocabulary. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same as you sass, my family. I woke up every morning for them. They're like my fuel that keeps me going..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Our family is our strength talaga. They keeps us going.

$ 0.00
3 years ago