The Principal with perfect principles in life

0 9
Avatar for Sashaa
Written by
1 year ago

You are lucky if you get a person who tries to bring the best in you. It may take time to find one, but when you have such a person in life you will know your limitations and also opportunities, where you can shine the most.

A strong pillar like our Principal

When working in an Institution many of us go through various flaws. Such flaws happens unintentionally leading to a disturbed and insecure future. Very few of them try to rectify their mistakes by guidance, while some due to fear of ignorance stay silent. A strong leader above you can definitely bring the best in you.

Years back, I was working abroad in an educational institution. I was in the non teaching category. The post of a librarian. In general, from public viewpoint, it is told that this is one of the most simple and convenient job., where a librarian has to just sit and issue the books to the student. To a certain extent, this concept is definitely true where a librarian has to make entries of the books issued and return to the library.

But not always, especially when you don't have anyone to assist you. When you are incharge of the library it's your self responsibility to keep the books back in the specific rack once the usage of book is over by the students. This helps to locate the book easily the next time when it is on demand. During new arrival of books it takes hours and days to complete. In case of an automated library, each book should be stamped, accessioned and fed in with full details in the system. In small libraries, all these are carried out manually. Before closing the library, the seatings are to be arranged perfectly and all books to be entered in the specific book shelf. So this job is not an easy task .

I worked in this International school for nearly 15 years under four Principals. To repeat, the same old story continued with me under two Principals, who according to them, a librarian is a person with the least job. So I was entrusted with more responsibilities in the office, teaching General Knowledge to lower classes and imparting moral instructions to higher grade.

Today, when looking back I could say how challenging my job was ? Apart from my librarian post I was incharge of the Admission tests, I used to occupy the Cashier's post when she is on leave, incharge of distributing salaries to the staff, incharge of alloting substitution to teacher's on leave and during school functions or PTA meetings additional responsibilities were given. Above all, two of us were assigned to type the question papers for the Gulf Board exams.

When I used to do all these kinds of jobs, some of my colleagues used to mock at me asking what exactly is your post ? As I was much in need of this job to support my family, I used to ignore this question. My husband had a small job and my three children were put in the same school where I was working. So this income was important for our sustenance.

To beat this all, the arrival of a new Principal made vast changes in my career. A tough Principal indeed, with lots of principle in life. In one word a perfect person for the title as a Principal. When all Principals who sat before her, was busy minting money for the school and themselves she was the only one who stood firm against the management to remove the weeds and yield fresh and best icons.

She followed her own sincere principles. A person with strong will power and determination. She was indeed a big support to the teachers community. Her way of handling things that came into her cabin was above our thought. You expect something, but you receive something. She was the one who brought the inert talents from the teacher- student community. When something good she sees in you, she never forgets to appreciate you, be in private or public. A person who assures and executes, if found correct from her point of view.

I wasn't much lucky to work with this strong personality for long. I worked under her for just one year after which I had ti return back to my country due to various reasons. But in the short span of time I learnt a lot from her for which I am grateful to her even today.

She was the one who recognized and appreciated my job. She made me free from all office works and insisted me on spending more time on my related job to improvise and cater to the needs of students rather than the schools need. I learnt a lot from this great leader and dictator. It was just because of her that I with other staffs, could organise programs on World Book Day and organise a Book fair for the students by taking them outside the school campus. I Still remember her words of praise. She called a "Jack in all trades". Q

An appreciation from a head can make wonders in you. No matter who you are? Only the job matters. Due to her indulgence, I was given the liberty to conduct competitions for students and purchase books according to students choice. When you have such a person with leadership qualities, trust me.you can make wonders.

In today's generation all are after money. Money being the main criteria, they go to any extent just to extort money. Sometimes legally and sometimes illegally. The main reason of such happenings are they are not satisfied with the current job. Many of them take up a job by chance, just by chance, just for making a regular income.

When sonething is done while putting your full interest and effort, you yield a totally rich fruit, for which you can take the credit with pride.

Images captured from my mobile.

3
$ 1.19
$ 1.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Alther
$ 0.02 from @GarrethGrey07
Avatar for Sashaa
Written by
1 year ago

Comments