Making A Coaching Change.

0 17

I love going on a morning run for my regular exercise, Because it gives me a chance to just think.

Sometimes I go on a run with a specific challenge that I want to think through.

Other times I don't have anything specific to think about, And thoughs just pop into my mind.

On one particular run when I didn't have anything unique to consider, My mind wandered, Thinking about some rental property I had recently sold.

It was in a different state than where I lived.

The properties had not been managed well, And things had gone from bad to worse.

I had been losing money every month.

I couldn't manage the properties myself, Because the location was too far away.

This was at a time when the real estate market nationwide had taken a dive, And selling wasn't an option unless I was willing to sell the property at a deep loss. The problems mounted.

Not only was my property manager not managing the properties well, But he was also misappropriating funds.

I reluctantly sold the properties at a great loss, Because it was the best option among all of my bad options.

As I began this run I started reliving what had happened, And I became furious all over again.

In other words, My lizard brain, Which asks the question, “Can I eat it?” or “Can it eat me?” Was mocking me.

It was in essence saying, “Hey, Charles, Why did you let them eat us? Couldn't you come up with something to defend ourselves?” About that time, My monkey brain joined in on this pity party, And I was in a “Woe is me” mode.

I was going back and forth from feeling angry to feeling sad., And then back to angry again.

My lizard brain was the head coach, And my emotionally-charged sad and angry monkey brain was the assistant coach.

I could feel my blood pressure rising, And I got so upset that it finally dawned on me that I was running much faster than I normally do, And I don't even remember noticing or recalling anything in the previous half mile of my run.

Then it hit me that my divine brain was not participating at all.

I immediately made a coaching change! I focused on lessons I had learned from this real-estate experience.

My thoughts then drifted to how I could share what I had learned with family and friends about this real-estate scenario so as to spare them from what I had just been through.

After that thought, My mind went to thoughts of not just to help people with a similar real-estate predicament, But how to help people overcome such negative feelings I had, Regardless of whether it involved real estate or any other scenario.

Then I got really excited when I thought about how could I help my loved ones with their current struggles.

It was a complete shift.

My divine brain was now the head coach, And my monkey brain was still the assistant coach.

This time, instead of my monkey brain giving me feelings of sadness and anger, I began feeling excited and hopeful.

In essence, My divine brain and monkey brain were having a discussion saying, “Isn't it exciting that we can take this bad experience and not just turn it into something better for us, But also from our learning, We can create a means for teaching and serving our loved ones to improve their lives? Who knows, Perhaps we can even impact people we've never met, Who can share in what we've learned.”

About this time, I was about half a mile away from home.

I was so excited that I sprinted home, And that was the easiest part of the whole run.

Now even my lizard brain that controls breathing and muscle movements was joining the fun.

I couldn't wait to share my experience.

When the divine brain is the head coach, So to speak, Calling all the shots, The monkey brain and lizard brain make great assistant coaches.

📣KINDLY LIKE THIS ARTICLE IF YOU LIKE IT. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING.

7
$ 0.52
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Sarahmay
empty
empty
empty

Comments