The Journey of Achievements

3 24
Avatar for Samay-Ban
3 years ago

Eversince I started my studies, I received awards. It made my parents proud. And of course, I'm very proud of myself as well.

Primary

During our Pre-school, we were divided into two classes, morning and afternoon. I was in the afternoon class. When graduation came, I garnered first place. I felt very proud of myself for that achievement even at a young age. Months passed and we moved to Grade 1 with two sections. I was in section B. Some of my classmates from Pre-school were in section A and some are with my section. When awarding came, I was in 2nd place in our section. After Grade 1, we moved to Grade two with two sections again. We were in section A. If I remember it correctly, I was in 2nd place again. It felt good because of my achievements.

It happened that our adviser in Grade III section A was my mother when we entered. I topped the class in my section. Because of that, I heard rumors and harsh words from people especially my classmates. They said that I placed 1st because of my mother. "She don't deserve it. It's unfair! How come she placed first? She made her daughter as 1st place." Hearing those rumors made me cry.

"Why don't they accept it? I know to myself that I deserved it because I did my best and not because of the help of my mother. I was an honor student since Pre-school so it is not shocking if I placed first. My fellow honor students during Grade 2 were all in section B. They chose to go there." These made me stronger and more confident to do well in my studies.

Moving on, we entered Grade IV. At first, there were two sections. But in the middle of school year, we were combined because our adviser became the school principal at that time. So when the awarding came, I placed 4th. I proved that I'm an honor student.

But when we were in Grade V, I was not able to be part of honorols. I was very sad because the policy that time was when there is line of 7 in the grade, the student will not be imcluded on the list. Why is it that I'm not included? I will tell you.

Our history teacher or shall I say HKS because that's what it called back then was one of the teachers that have favorite students. Unfortunately, I was not included on her list. My grade were all line of 9 and some were line of 8 but above 85 and she's the only one who gave me 79. My mother told me that it happened to my sisters as well. I was devastated because I really did my best but my best wasn't good enough for her. Because of that grade, I was not included on the honor list so only four of our classmates were awarded.

It was our last year in elementary. So I told myself to enjoy and do my best. That time, we were the ones to choose our section thru drawlots. Maybe it's fate or call it what you want because I got section B wherein the adviser was our HKS teacher. I just shrugged my shoulders upon entering the room. It seems that my energy was drained. What a day, I thought.

She always tell comments about me. It made me feel uneasy and uncomfortable. I don't understand if she hates me that much so I told myself that I will prove myself to her again and again. And I really did. Unfortunately, I'm last. She gave me the lowest points. But still, I'm happy to be part of the list. She personally congratulated me after she ranked the honorols. I was thankful for it.

Secondary

Moving forward again, we're in high school. Some of our classmates from elementary transferred to other schools. We met new faces coming from different barangays. Again, two sections and I was in section A that time. I placed 2nd during the awarding ceremony.

We joined school clubs when we're in 2nd year highschool, sports and organizations. We got extracurricular points that was included in the ranking. After that, I placed third.

During our 3rd year, we were combined because some of our classmates dropped out from school and some transferred. It was enjoyable because of many activities and happenings in our school. We attended every activities and contests where we gained extra points. Having only 1 section, I placed 4th. Still, not bad.

Senior year came and we're still in one section. It's the last year of high school so we enjoyed every bit of it. We attended activities as well as contests happened outside school. I was selected as the representative for Ms. Senior when JS Promenade came. It's more enjoyable than when we're in 3rd year.

We enjoyed our school days. We had fun, arguments, troubles and sometimes misunderstandings. But in the end, we are one, we relied on each other until we finished high school. And by the way, I was in 3rd place.

Tertiary

After highschool, we went on our own path. Some went to other place to study, some remained in our province. And for some, unfortunately, got married early. For me, I went to Baguio City and enrolled in UC. But then, I just finished my first year college and went back to our province. I enjoyed my college years because I was with my friends and batchmates from highschool. We were able to overcome the struggles as well as the stress until we graduated. We finished the first step of our career. Again, my parents were very proud. I'm so thankful to God and to my family. They supported me in my journey. I was grateful and happy even if I did not receive any awards.

Having ups and downs, I was able to pass the board examination after graduation. I'm thankful to God because of the blessings he have given me. He's always there for me. I finished my degree and I'm a professional now but still waiting for employment. I hope to be employed next year.

4
$ 3.68
$ 3.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Samay-Ban
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Samay-Ban
3 years ago

Comments

It's sad that people judge when they become envious. Maybe the best thing we could do is to try harder and smile to people who envies us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True! But atleast we know where we stand. We know our place hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep the hopes up for your employment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago