Seeking Job Granted!

1 14
Avatar for Samay-Ban
2 years ago

It's been a while since I posted an article. I've been busy and the signal was not stable.

It's been a month since I started working in our municipal office. I was grateful for having a job and not just slacking at home. How did I manage to have this job of mine?

One time, a close friend and a classmate of mine texted me. She said, "please call me, ASAP!" I thought that there's an emergency so i was nervous. What could it be, i thought. As fast as i could, i stopped what i was doing and called her. What's up, i said.

"Do you want to apply here in the office? We have vacancy because one of our workmate quit. And if you do, please prepare the requirements needed."

With that, I calmed down myself. I thought it was an emergency. I asked her about the job and the requirements. So i went down to our room and got the folder. I looked on the requirements. Whew! Thank goodness, i brought my credentials. After preparing the documents, i showered and changed. Then went straight to the office. My friend welcomed me and accompanied me to the office.

I was a little bit nervous as i entered the room. They smiled at me and asked questions. I handed over my documents and told me to get and Indigency certificate. It happened that my brother in law was at our house so mother instructed him to go and get it. We photocopied my documents and printed the ID. I was thankful because of my friend. She did not leave me.

After completing the requirements, i went to their workplace while waiting for my brother in law. I asked why the person i changed quit. They don't know the reason also. I thanked her again for thinking about me. No problem she said. I was the first person she thought when the boss asked them if they know someone to replace the person quitted. So boss told them to text me and prepare my requirements which we did.

They told me to report the next day. I was a bit surprised but did not show. I agreed and left. When i was about to go home, i met my brother in law. He told me that the signature of the barangay captain was needed so we went to their house.. Good thing she was home so she put her signature and i submitted it afterwards.. I told my friend that i will see them the next day.

The next day, i prepared myself.. Out of excitement i woke up early. Then went to office early also.. I waited for my friends to enter. Then went to boss to ask what to do. They told me to do what the others were doing, editing. So i used the desktop. Not knowing of anything, i opened the desktop. When someone came, i just thought that she's just waiting for someone so she entered. But when my friend came, she told me that someone i thought was stranger was the one using the desktop. I said sorry and told me that she'll use her laptop.

I don't have laptop because desktop is what i'm using in the city.. I continued what i was doing after telling me what to do. It was technical editing.. We editted the works of cultural mappers. That was what we're doing for a week. They told me to make a narrative report one time.. There was making of minutes of the meeting also. On field like going to other barangays for sector assessment. Making flower wreaths for the funeral. And other reports they told us to do.

Time flies and it's a month already. I still sell fishball when i go home. Sometimes not when i feel tired. Sometimes my brother in law was the one selling... So that's what i've been up to this whole month. Our contract will end this November 15. There is still 3 and a half months to go. This serves as experience.. I hope that when i apply for a job again, i will be accomodated. And when time permits, i want to become a permanent and regular employee.

By the way, i did not get my salary yet. We're still waiting for the text coming from Western Union to go and get it. We need to travel an hour in order to reach the nearby town where we withdraw the salary. So i hope we'll be hearing from them this week. I don't have money. Haha. But because of selling fishball, i have allowance. Even if not that enough.

I hope that after this contract, we will be having another job waiting for us.

3
$ 1.10
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Samay-Ban
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Samay-Ban
2 years ago

Comments

Good job!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago