Craving Solved!

0 13
Avatar for Samay-Ban
2 years ago

I always wanted to eat something this past few days until now. I don't know if my period is near or something else. I hope it's that something else. Have you ever craved over something but you were not able to eat it so you felt sad and cried? For me, I did not cry because all my cravings were here so I ate it all.

The weather's so hot. Sweat all over the body. Drink iced water. But I'm craving something.

I was craving for something sweet yesterday. So I told my brother in law to chat his friend if they made buko pie. I was thinking on what to cook. Something that is sweet and yummy. I saw the sweet potatoes on the table so I thought of ube pie. She's not responding so I told him to go and buy ingredients for us to make ube pie or ube pocket. We have sweet potatoes and eggs so he went to buy bread crumbs, loaf bread, ube flavored condense and evaporated milk.

To start, I peeled the sweet potatoes or what we call "pap-aray". I did not use gloves so my hands got dirty because I did not wash the sweet potatoes.. But don't worry. You can just wash it off and your hands become clean again. It's optional to use gloves. Your choice also to wash first the camote before peeling or not.

There are pieces that were not good. We say it "nagasheng". I removed it and chose the good ones. I peeled outside because it's much cooler and there's fresh air. It's so hot! I can't take the heat. It makes me dizzy and my head hurts.

After peeling, I put the pieces in a pot where there is water. This will prevent the "pap-aray" in becoming black. It's easy to wash it also.

After peeling, I washed it twice and boiled for about 20 minutes. My brother in law prepared the loaf bread. Because we don't have roller, he washed the vinegar bottle and used it as roller. His hands were tired so I volunteered to do it. I told him to go and feed our piglet because it's lunch time already. When he finished, he closed the stove and let the pap-aray cool down.

When it was cooked, we mashed it. We don't have masher as well so we used fork. Our hands got tired in mashing. When it was mashed, we put the ube flavored condense milk. We mixed until all particles became violet. After that, we put a spoonful of ube in a loaf and folded it. We used water in its side to paste it and the fork to have a design. No image to show because I forgot to take one.

We have 21 in all. I arranged it on a plate and put in a chiller. We had our lunch at 1:30. While waiting for it to be chilled, I washed our clothes using the washing machine. I hanged it outside because there's still sun. It was so hot so we napped. We woke up at 4 in the afternoon and prepared the ube pocket to be cooked. I got it out from the chiller after 2 hours. He opened the evaporated milk using the tip of a knife.

I cracked two eggs and poured the milk then mix mix mix.. He put the bread crumbs on a plate. I heated the pot and put the oil. We dipped the loaf in the egg and milk mixture. Then on the bread crumbs. Afterwards, in the pan. Deep fry... I cooked it until it became golden brown. All the 21 pieces were cooked. It's time to taste.. Yummy! But the sugar is controlled. It's not sweet. I forgot to take a picture again because my attention was to eat. No portion left to take a picture on. Haha. Now I know how to make it. Try it also. It's delicious. My parents liked it and they liked how the sweetness was controlled. It's not good if it's so sweet, they said. Craving solved! I was satisfied.

Instead of buying outside, better make it. It's cheaper when you make it. It's also affordable. If only there are no bakeries here in our hometown, I will make and sell it. When my brother in law went home, I told him to get 6 pieces for them to eat at home. So that's how we made ube pie or ube pocket. You can call it what you want. Next time, I'll try something else again.

1
$ 0.39
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Samay-Ban
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Samay-Ban
2 years ago

Comments